Digital adoption platform software sits on top of another application and layers in-app guidance — product tours, tooltips, checklists and contextual help — directly into the workflow, aimed at getting new users productive and existing users through new features without a separate training program. This ranking is aimed at product, growth and customer-success teams choosing a guidance layer for their own SaaS product or for internal enterprise software, not at a company that has already standardized on one platform group-wide. We judged whether pricing is actually published, how self-serve the platform itself is to configure, what a real deployment costs once a buyer is past any free tier, whether a team's own guides and usage data come back out cleanly if it leaves, and which company or jurisdiction ultimately owns the vendor — a test that matters more than usual here, since the category's pioneer changed owners entirely in 2024.
Visibility in this ranking can be paid for. Payment moves a vendor's position within the
shortlist; it never adds a vendor, and it never changes a word of the review. The largest vendors in digital adoption platform software
cannot hold places 1 to 3. How it works: placement disclosure ·
editorial process.
How we ranked these
Setup: no-code builder versus a sales-led implementation
Setup here splits cleanly into two groups. Product Fruits, UserGuiding, Userpilot, Chameleon, Pendo and Appcues are all self-serve: sign up, install a snippet or SDK, and start building flows in a no-code editor the same day, typically behind a free trial or a real free tier. Whatfix, WalkMe, Userlane, Lemon Learning and Newired are sold through a demo and a sales conversation, and several — Userlane and Lemon Learning in particular — describe a multi-week rollout aimed at large, often regulated, enterprise deployments rather than a single product team moving fast. Neither approach is wrong; they are built for different buyers, and the self-serve group is a poor fit for a large organization that wants a dedicated implementation partner and an SLA.
The real price: monthly active users, and who actually publishes a number
Only four of the eleven products here publish real dollar figures: Product Fruits from $111/month, UserGuiding from $174/month, Userpilot from $299/month and Chameleon from $279. Pendo publishes a genuine free plan up to 500 monthly active users but keeps every paid tier quote-only, and the remaining six — Appcues, Whatfix, WalkMe, Userlane, Lemon Learning and Newired — disclose no pricing at all. Nearly every plan in this category, published or not, is priced by monthly active users (MAU) rather than by seat, which means the number on a pricing page rarely survives a product's own growth: a published $111/month entry tier can become a five-figure annual contract once a product crosses a few tens of thousands of monthly users.
Getting your guides and data out
None of the eleven products in this category are open source or self-hostable, so a team's flows, tours, checklists and the usage analytics attached to them live entirely inside the vendor's infrastructure for as long as the contract runs. Exportability is rarely advertised on a marketing page for any of them; a buyer has to ask directly whether guide content, targeting rules and historical analytics can be exported in a usable format, and whether that export is included in the contract or billed as a separate project when the relationship ends.
Independence from the vendor: who owns the company behind the guidance layer
Five of the eleven — Userpilot, Chameleon, Pendo, Appcues and WalkMe — are US-incorporated outright, and Whatfix is dual-headquartered in the United States and India. WalkMe is the sharpest example of why ownership is worth checking separately from headquarters: founded in Tel Aviv, Israel in 2011 and headquartered in San Francisco, it was acquired by SAP, the German enterprise software company, for $1.5 billion in a deal that completed in September 2024, and is now a wholly-owned SAP subsidiary rather than an independent company. UserGuiding is Turkey-incorporated. The four EU vendors — Product Fruits (Czechia), Userlane (Germany), Lemon Learning (France) and Newired (Italy) — are independently owned as far as the public record shows, though Lemon Learning itself became the acquirer in December 2025, buying the French desktop-guidance vendor Aidaxis.
Who it's for: three shapes of buyer, not one
Most companies shortlisting this category fall into one of three groups. A product-led SaaS team wanting to self-serve into onboarding guidance without a sales call defaults correctly to Product Fruits, UserGuiding, Userpilot or Chameleon, all of which publish pricing and offer a trial. A large enterprise standardizing guidance across internal software — Salesforce, SAP, Workday and similar — is better served by Userlane, Lemon Learning or WalkMe, all of which describe named enterprise deployments and quote-only, sales-led pricing. A team that specifically wants a European-incorporated vendor for data-residency or procurement reasons has four real options: Product Fruits, Userlane, Lemon Learning and Newired, though Newired in particular discloses far less public information than the other three.
The 11 tools, reviewed
#1 Product Fruits
Czech no-code onboarding with published, MAU-based pricing · Czechia · productfruits.com
Published MAU-based pricing 14-day free trial, no card No-code flows and checklists
Product Fruits is one of only four vendors in this category that publishes real pricing rather than routing every visitor to a demo request: Starter is $111 a month for 1,500 monthly active users, billed annually, scaling through a public slider. Founded in Prague in 2019, it ships no-code flows, checklists, tours and an AI assistant called Elvin, and backs the pricing with a genuine 14-day free trial that needs no credit card.
Where it falls short
Total disclosed funding sits around €3.22 million across two rounds from Reflex Capital, modest next to venture-backed US competitors, and 2019 makes it the youngest independently-founded vendor in this category with the shortest public track record.
Wrong for
A large regulated enterprise wanting a vendor with a long, named enterprise track record and dedicated compliance documentation; Userlane or WalkMe carry more of that evidence.
Pricing: Starter from $111/month at 1,500 MAU, billed annually, published, scaling via a public MAU slider; 14-day free trial, no credit card required. (free trial)
Visit Product Fruits →
#2 UserGuiding
No-code product adoption with published pricing and a money-back guarantee · Turkey · userguiding.com
Published yearly pricing 30-day money-back guarantee 14-day free trial
UserGuiding, operated out of Istanbul via its Delaware subsidiary YNOT Partners, Inc., undercuts most of this list on price while still publishing real numbers: Starter from $174 a month, Growth from $349 a month, both billed yearly at a 2,000 MAU base. A 30-day money-back guarantee on top of the usual 14-day free trial is unusually buyer-friendly for a no-code adoption platform.
Where it falls short
Interface polish and integration depth trail the larger, more established US incumbents further up this list, and no founding year is stated on the pages reviewed.
Wrong for
A large enterprise wanting deep, named integrations with specific enterprise software like Salesforce, SAP or Workday; Lemon Learning is built specifically for that.
Pricing: Starter from $174/month billed yearly; Growth from $349/month billed yearly, both at a 2,000 MAU base, published; Enterprise custom. 30-day money-back guarantee; 14-day free trial. (free trial)
Visit UserGuiding →
#3 Userpilot
Product growth platform with in-app flows and product analytics · United States · userpilot.com
Published MAU-tiered pricing AI agent Lia and MCP server built in 14-day free trial
Userpilot, headquartered in Austin, Texas, sits squarely in the middle of this category on price and depth: Starter is $299 a month for 2,000 MAU, Growth moves to $849 a month at 100,000 MAU, and an AI agent called Lia ships with an MCP server for programmatic control. Published pricing at every self-serve tier makes it easy to budget for.
Where it falls short
Enterprise reverts to a quote like almost everything else on this page, and the $299 entry price is noticeably higher than Product Fruits or UserGuiding for a comparable MAU allowance.
Wrong for
A very early-stage team on a tight budget; Product Fruits or UserGuiding both undercut Userpilot's entry price for a similar feature set.
Pricing: Starter $299/month (2,000 MAU); Growth from $849/month (100,000 MAU), published; Enterprise custom. 14-day free trial, no credit card required. (free trial)
Visit Userpilot →
#4 Chameleon
Deep no-code product adoption builder, now with interactive demos · United States · chameleon.io
Published tiered pricing Acquired Driveway for demos (2024) 14-day trial, 10k free AI credits
Chameleon, out of San Francisco and founded in 2015, has the deepest no-code builder in this category — tooltips, banners, modals, checklists and full product tours — and extended into interactive demos by acquiring Driveway in May 2024. Pricing is published from Startup ($279 for 2,000 MTU) up through Growth ($1,250/month).
Where it falls short
Growth and Enterprise both assume a team that already knows exactly what it wants to build, and the jump from Pro to Growth roughly doubles the monthly price.
Wrong for
A very small team that just wants a simple onboarding checklist; Chameleon's breadth is more than a first deployment typically needs.
Pricing: Startup from $279 (2,000 MTU); Pro from $750/month; Growth from $1,250/month billed annually, published; Enterprise custom. 14-day free trial with 10,000 free AI credits, no credit card required. (free trial)
Visit Chameleon →
#5 Pendo
Product experience platform with a genuine free tier · United States · pendo.io
Genuine free tier (500 MAU) Analytics-first product experience suite Paid tiers quote-only
Pendo, based in Raleigh, North Carolina, is the only vendor on this page with a genuinely usable free plan — up to 500 monthly active users, with real analytics and in-app guides rather than a stripped demo. Everything past that free tier, Base, Core and Ultimate, is quote-only.
Where it falls short
A growing team gets a real taste of the product on the free tier but then finds out what scale actually costs only through a sales conversation, with no published number at any paid tier.
Wrong for
A buyer who wants to compare exact monthly costs across vendors without a sales call; Product Fruits, UserGuiding, Userpilot or Chameleon all publish real numbers instead.
Pricing: Free plan up to 500 MAU (analytics, in-app guides, branded roadmaps and NPS surveys); Base, Core and Ultimate tiers all quoted on request. (free plan)
Visit Pendo →
#6 Appcues
Onboarding platform with MAU-tiered plans and a small-team program · United States · appcues.com
MAU and experience-count tiers Spark program for teams under 25 Free trial, unlimited flows
Appcues, headquartered in Boston, prices by monthly active users and the number of published experiences rather than a flat per-seat fee, but the dollar figures themselves are never shown — every tier from Start through Enterprise routes to a quote. Its Spark program, aimed specifically at teams under 25 people, is a genuine attempt to serve smaller buyers.
Where it falls short
No pricing is published anywhere, which makes Appcues harder to budget for up front than Product Fruits, UserGuiding, Userpilot or Chameleon, its closest self-serve competitors.
Wrong for
A buyer who wants to see an exact price before talking to anyone; the four published-pricing vendors in this category serve that need better.
Pricing: Start (3,000 MAU, 10 published experiences), Grow (25 experiences) and Enterprise (custom) tiers, priced by MAU and installation count; dollar amounts quoted on request. Free trial with unlimited flows, no credit card required. (free trial)
Visit Appcues →
#7 Whatfix
Enterprise DAP dual-headquartered in the US and India · United States · whatfix.com
Dual US/India headquarters AI roleplay training (Mirror) Enterprise sales-led pricing
Whatfix runs a dual headquarters in San Jose, California and Bengaluru, India, and is one of the most enterprise-scaled products in this category, adding Mirror, an AI-powered roleplay tool for hands-on training, alongside its core digital adoption platform and product analytics.
Where it falls short
Nothing about pricing is published anywhere on its site; every deployment starts with a demo, which makes early-stage budgeting impossible without a sales conversation.
Wrong for
A small, self-serve SaaS team wanting to try a tool the same day; Whatfix is built for a sales-led enterprise rollout, not a same-day signup.
Pricing: Not disclosed on the pages reviewed; quote and demo only. (none stated)
Visit Whatfix →
#8 WalkMe
Category pioneer, now a wholly-owned SAP subsidiary · United States · walkme.com
Category pioneer, founded 2011 Acquired by SAP for $1.5B (2024) Enterprise sales-led pricing
WalkMe is the category's pioneer, founded in Tel Aviv, Israel in 2011 and headquartered today in San Francisco — but as of September 2024 it is no longer an independent company: SAP, the German enterprise software vendor, acquired WalkMe for $1.5 billion and delisted it from NASDAQ. It remains the platform other vendors on this page are usually measured against, integrating with SAP's own Joule AI copilot.
Where it falls short
Pricing has never been published and every deployment is sales-led; buyers evaluating it alongside SAP's own roadmap should note it is now a subsidiary rather than an independent vendor with its own board.
Wrong for
A small self-serve team without a procurement process; WalkMe is built and sold as an enterprise, sales-led product.
Pricing: Not disclosed on the pages reviewed; quote and demo only. (none stated)
Visit WalkMe →
#9 Userlane
Software adoption platform built for regulated industries · Germany · userlane.com
Regulated-industry focus Named enterprise customers Quote-only pricing
Userlane, based in Munich, positions itself explicitly as a platform for regulated industries, and its named customer list backs that up: Mercedes-Benz, BMW, the NHS, Vodafone, Daimler, Zurich Insurance, Celonis and Deutsche Bahn all appear on its site. Pricing is entirely quote-only, offered as either a fixed annual fee per application or usage-based pricing across unlimited applications.
Where it falls short
No pricing, founding year, team page or public certification list is stated on the marketing site, which suits a large enterprise buyer's sales-led process far better than a small SaaS team evaluating its first adoption platform.
Wrong for
A small SaaS team wanting to self-serve and see a price the same day; Userlane is built and sold for large, often regulated, enterprise deployments.
Pricing: Quoted on request; two models offered, a fixed annual fee per application with unlimited users, or usage-based pricing across unlimited applications, across three plan tracks (Application, Department, Organization). (none stated)
Visit Userlane →
#10 Lemon Learning
Deep guidance for Salesforce, SAP and Workday, now covering desktop apps too · France · lemonlearning.com
Deep Salesforce/SAP/Workday guidance Covers desktop apps since Aidaxis (Dec 2025) Quote-only pricing
Lemon Learning, operating out of Paris since 2014, is built specifically around named guidance for Salesforce, SAP and Workday rather than a generic 'any web app' pitch, and its December 2025 acquisition of Aidaxis extended that coverage to native desktop applications — a segment none of the other ten vendors here explicitly cover.
Where it falls short
Pricing is quote-only with a rollout the vendor states typically takes around six weeks, and the company maintains real US and UK offices alongside its Paris HQ, which is worth noting for a buyer specifically prioritizing a purely European operating footprint.
Wrong for
A team wanting guidance on a broad, unnamed mix of internal tools with no particular Salesforce, SAP or Workday emphasis; the other vendors here are built more generically.
Pricing: Quoted on request; the vendor states a typical rollout takes around six weeks. (none stated)
Visit Lemon Learning →
#11 Newired
Italian “User Enablement Platform”, explicitly marketed as EU-founded · Italy · newired.com
EU-founded, explicitly marketed as such OEM licensing option Thinnest public info of the field
Newired, registered in Turin, Italy, brands itself a 'User Enablement Platform' rather than a conventional DAP, and markets its EU origin explicitly. It is also the least transparent vendor in this category: no founding year, no named customers, no compliance certifications and no published pricing appear anywhere on the site reviewed.
Where it falls short
Almost nothing beyond the product pitch itself is independently verifiable from the vendor's own site: no founding year, no named customers, no headcount or funding figures, and two differently-labeled Turin addresses on its own contact page without explanation.
Wrong for
A buyer that wants to verify company maturity, named customers or compliance certifications before a first call; that information simply is not published for Newired the way it is for most of the other ten vendors here.
Pricing: Not published; a scalable standard model and a separate OEM licensing model for partners, both quoted on request. (none stated)
Visit Newired →
What the data says about this market
Ownership in this category is less concentrated than in some adjacent software markets, but the one acquisition that did happen is a significant one: SAP, the German enterprise software company, bought WalkMe — the category's pioneer, founded in Tel Aviv in 2011 — for $1.5 billion in a deal that completed in September 2024, delisting WalkMe from NASDAQ in the process. Lemon Learning, a French vendor, made its own acquisition in December 2025, buying Aidaxis, a smaller French vendor specializing in guidance for native desktop applications, extending Lemon Learning's coverage beyond browser-based software.
Pricing in this category runs almost entirely on monthly active users (MAU) rather than per-seat billing, which is a structural difference from adjacent categories like help desk or CRM software. Of the eleven vendors reviewed here, four publish real dollar figures at their entry tier (Product Fruits, UserGuiding, Userpilot, Chameleon), one publishes a genuine permanent free plan (Pendo, up to 500 MAU), and the remaining six price entirely through a sales conversation. That is a narrower published-pricing rate than several other SaaS categories on this site, consistent with a market where a meaningful share of revenue comes from large, negotiated enterprise contracts rather than self-serve signups.
The 11 ranked vendors, counted
- Headquarters by region: North America 6, Europe 4, Middle East & Africa 1
- By country: United States 6, Czechia 1, France 1, Germany 1, Italy 1, Turkey 1
- Pricing model: Quote only 6, Per MAU / month 3, Per MTU / month 1, Quote only (free tier available) 1
- Free option: Free trial 5, None stated 5, Free plan 1
Counted from the 11 vendors on this page. More in our market data.
For the wider market behind digital adoption platform software, read our report The Global Shift to ICT Services,
or browse all industry reports.
Questions and answers
What is the best digital adoption platform software in 2026?
Product Fruits leads this ranking: it is one of only four vendors here that publishes real pricing rather than routing every visitor to a demo request, with Starter at $111 a month for 1,500 monthly active users, scaling through a public slider, and it backs that with a genuine 14-day free trial. Userlane is the better pick for a large regulated enterprise with named deployments at companies like Mercedes-Benz and the NHS, and Lemon Learning is worth a look specifically for teams standardizing guidance across Salesforce, SAP or Workday.
Is Product Fruits or Userpilot better for a small SaaS team?
Product Fruits is the cheaper, younger, more purely self-serve option, with published pricing from $111/month and a 14-day free trial. Userpilot, from Austin, Texas, is more established and bundles an AI agent (Lia) and an MCP server with its own published, MAU-tiered pricing from $299/month. A small team on a tight budget will likely start with Product Fruits; a team that wants a more mature product and can absorb the higher entry price may prefer Userpilot.
Which of these tools are free to use?
None are free at unlimited scale. Pendo has the only genuine permanent free plan, covering up to 500 monthly active users. Product Fruits, UserGuiding, Userpilot, Chameleon and Appcues all offer a time-limited free trial, typically 14 days, rather than a lasting free tier. Whatfix, WalkMe, Userlane, Lemon Learning and Newired disclose no free tier or trial at all on their public pages.
Is WalkMe still an independent company?
No. WalkMe, the category's pioneer, was founded in Tel Aviv, Israel in 2011, is headquartered in San Francisco, and IPO'd on NASDAQ in June 2021. SAP, the German enterprise software company, acquired WalkMe for $1.5 billion in a deal that completed in September 2024, delisting it from NASDAQ. WalkMe now operates as a wholly-owned SAP subsidiary and integrates with SAP's own Joule AI copilot.
Can I keep using this platform if my product moves off Salesforce, SAP or Workday?
Lemon Learning is built specifically around named guidance for Salesforce, SAP and Workday rather than a generic 'works on any web app' pitch, so a team moving off those platforms loses the specific advantage Lemon Learning is built around, though its guidance still works on other web applications. The other ten vendors in this category are built generically for any web-based product from the start, so a platform migration on your end does not force a vendor migration on theirs.
Which of these vendors are US companies, and does that matter?
Userpilot, Chameleon, Pendo, Appcues and WalkMe are all US-incorporated, and Whatfix is dual-headquartered in the US and India, which puts customer usage data within reach of US legal process regardless of where a customer is based. UserGuiding is Turkey-incorporated. Product Fruits (Czechia), Userlane (Germany), Lemon Learning (France) and Newired (Italy) are the four EU-incorporated options. Whether that distinction matters depends entirely on a buyer's own compliance requirements, not on the software itself.
What happened between Lemon Learning and Aidaxis?
Lemon Learning, a Paris-based digital adoption platform operating since 2014, acquired Aidaxis, a smaller French vendor founded in 2016 and based in Arnas, France, in December 2025. Aidaxis specialized in guidance for native desktop applications, a segment Lemon Learning's own web-based platform did not previously cover, so the acquisition extends Lemon Learning's addressable footprint from browser-based software to native desktop applications in one move — a segment none of the other ten vendors in this category explicitly cover.
Is there an open source or self-hostable digital adoption platform?
No. Every product in this category, including all eleven reviewed here, is closed-source SaaS. Unlike some developer-facing software categories, no vendor building in-app guidance software currently publishes its source or offers a self-hosted edition.
Which digital adoption platform has the most proven enterprise customer base?
Userlane, by a clear margin. Its published customer list includes Mercedes-Benz, BMW, the NHS, Vodafone, Daimler, Zurich Insurance, Celonis and Deutsche Bahn, all named directly on its site, consistent with its explicit positioning as a platform for regulated industries such as healthcare, financial services and the public sector.
Why does Newired rank last in this category?
Not because of anything wrong with the product, but because of how little is independently verifiable about the company: no founding year, no named customers, no compliance certifications and no published pricing appear anywhere on the vendor's own site. Newired is genuinely EU-founded (Turin, Italy) and markets that fact explicitly, and it offers an OEM licensing model none of the other ten vendors here explicitly provide, but a buyer evaluating it has less public information to check than with any other vendor in this ranking.
How often is this ranking updated?
Whenever a fact underneath it changes: a pricing update, an acquisition like SAP's purchase of WalkMe or Lemon Learning's purchase of Aidaxis, or a product that stops being maintained. The published and last-reviewed dates at the top of this guide are real, and a review means someone checked the vendor's current documentation, not that a date was moved forward without a re-check.