Skip to content
Revenue & Growth · 12 vendors ranked

Best Customer Success Software in 2026

A subscription business does not lose customers on the day they cancel. It loses them months earlier, when the champion who bought the product changes jobs, when logins thin out, or when a renewal quote lands on a desk nobody has spoken to since onboarding. Customer success software exists to make those quiet signals visible while there is still time to act: it pulls usage, support and billing data into one account view, scores health, and tells a customer success manager which accounts need a call this week. This ranking is for B2B companies with a recurring contract and a small team that owns retention. We judged each product on how long it takes to get real data flowing, what the contract actually costs once seats, accounts and add-ons are counted, whether you can export your health scores and history, how tied you are to one vendor, and which kind of company it fits. The order is the verdict.

What it is: Customer success software is a platform that gives teams responsible for retention and expansion a single view of every customer account. It combines product usage, CRM, support and billing data into health scores, triggers playbooks and tasks when an account changes, and tracks onboarding, renewals and churn risk. It sits between the CRM, which tracks deals, and the help desk, which tracks tickets, and is used mainly by B2B subscription companies.

Visibility in this ranking can be paid for. Payment moves a vendor's position within the shortlist; it never adds a vendor, and it never changes a word of the review. The largest vendors in customer success software cannot hold places 1 to 3. How it works: placement disclosure · editorial process.

The top three

  1. #1

    Planhat

    Mid-market SaaS with EU data needs

    Swedish platform that runs as a customer success tool, CRM or services automation system, with EU or US hosting chosen by the customer.

  2. #2

    Vitally

    Mid-market teams wanting fast adoption

    Customer success workspace with three plans organized by touch model, unlimited automations and unlimited observer seats on every plan.

  3. #3

    Custify

    SaaS teams of 2 to 15 CSMs

    Romanian customer success platform storing data in Germany, charging no setup fees and holding ISO 27001 and SOC 2 certifications.

How we ranked these

Setup: data connectors and a health score you can defend

Nothing in this category works until account data arrives, and that is where the calendar goes. Connecting a CRM is an afternoon. Getting product usage into the platform, mapping it to accounts, and agreeing which signals make up a health score is the real project, and it involves your data team more than the vendor's onboarding manager. ClientSuccess states that implementation typically takes 4 to 6 weeks, a useful public anchor, and the enterprise-weight platforms usually take longer. Ask each vendor which usage sources it reads natively, whether a score can be edited by a CSM without a services engagement, and who builds the first playbooks. A health score nobody trusts is worse than none, because the team stops opening the dashboard.

The real price: seats, account bands and the add-ons behind the quote

Most vendors here publish no dollar figures, so the first discipline is comparing what the quote is built on. Gainsight sizes its Customer Success tiers by full users and customers per user, Velaris sells a base license of 5 users with unlimited viewers, and SmartKarrot ties plans to users and connected SaaS products. Planhat sells quote-based packages with named add-ons such as an upgraded AI platform, advanced portals and email marketing. Ask for the price at your current account count and again at double that, and ask which modules are extra. Of the twelve products listed, only SmartKarrot, HubSpot and Churnkey state a starting price on their own pages. Annual commitments are the norm, and ClientSuccess says they run roughly 15 to 20 percent below month-to-month rates.

Getting your data out: scores, timelines and playbook history

The data you would want back is not just customer records, which still live in your CRM. It is the layer the platform created: health score history, timeline notes, success plans, call transcripts, task outcomes and survey results. Several of these tools capture conversations automatically, which makes the archive more valuable and harder to move. Before signing, ask whether the full account timeline and score history can be exported in bulk through an API or scheduled export, in which format, and whether that access is included in the base plan. Warehouse sync is a good sign, because it means the history can sit in your own tables. If the answer is a CSV of the current account list, plan for losing a year of context at exit.

Independence from the vendor: ownership, hosting and where your account data sits

This category shifted hard in the last two years. Gainsight owns Staircase AI and Skilljar, Totango absorbed Catalyst and now markets under the Odie name, and ClientSuccess has bought Product Signals. A platform that gets folded into a larger suite can see its roadmap and pricing change without your input. Hosting matters too: Custify states its data is stored in Germany, Totango lists AWS regions in both North Virginia and Germany, Velaris says personal data is stored in the United Kingdom, and Planhat offers hosting in the EU or the US. Vitally and SmartKarrot do not commit to a region in the policies we read. For European customer data, ask for the region in writing and for the sub-processor list.

Who it's for: team size, motion and how much you already own

The first question is not which platform but how many accounts each CSM carries. A team with a handful of high-value accounts needs success plans, stakeholder maps and renewal forecasts. A team running thousands of accounts with few people needs segmentation, automated outreach and in-app messaging, and uses the CSM only for exceptions. Then count what you already own: if your CRM or help desk has a health score field and your team is three people, a dedicated platform may be premature, and a lighter workspace inside HubSpot is the honest comparison. Vitally explicitly sells three plans by motion (tech-touch, hybrid-touch, high-touch), which is a decent framing even if you buy elsewhere.

Compared at a glance

#ToolBest forPricing modelFree optionHeadquarters
1Planhat Mid-market SaaS with EU data needsQuote onlyNoneSweden
2Vitally Mid-market teams wanting fast adoptionQuote onlyFree trialUnited States
3Custify SaaS teams of 2 to 15 CSMsQuote onlyNoneRomania
4Gainsight Larger CS orgs with dedicated adminsQuote onlyNoneUnited States
5ChurnZero B2B SaaS with mid-sized CS teamsQuote onlyNoneUnited States
6ClientSuccess Small and mid-sized B2B teamsQuote onlyNoneUnited States
7HubSpot Service Hub HubSpot customers with small CS teamsPer seat / monthFree planUnited States
8Totango Teams wanting EU hosting from a US vendorQuote onlyNoneUnited States
9Velaris Mid-market and enterprise SaaS in the UK and EUQuote onlyNoneUnited Kingdom
10SmartKarrot Mid-sized teams wanting an annual priceQuote onlyNoneUnited States
11Staircase AI Teams wanting signals without manual loggingQuote onlyNoneUnited States
12Churnkey Self-serve subscription businessesUsage-basedFree trialUnited States

The 12 tools, reviewed

#1 Planhat

Agentic customer platform for B2B teams · Sweden · planhat.com

Quote-based EU or US hosting CS, CRM and PSA

Planhat takes first place because it is the one product here built by a European company that also lets you choose where the data lives: its GDPR commitment says hosting is offered in the EU and the US, with production, backups and recovery in the chosen region. It can be configured as a customer success platform, a CRM or professional services automation, which suits a SaaS company whose post-sale team also sells expansion and bills implementation hours. Its security page lists ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II. For a team that wants one data model across success and account management, it is the strongest start.

Where it falls short

Pricing is by quote with several paid add-ons, so the first number you hear is rarely the final one. Its own site names Planhat inc. in the footer while the privacy policy names Planhat AB as controller, which is worth asking about. Breadth means configuration work, and a small team may spend weeks modeling objects.

Wrong for

A three-person team that needs a simple health dashboard and a fixed price this week. Look at Custify or the Workspace inside HubSpot instead.

Pricing: Quote-based with add-ons such as an upgraded AI platform, advanced service, email marketing and advanced portals; no prices published. (none)

Visit Planhat →

#2 Vitally

AI-assisted workspace for customer success teams · United States · vitally.io

Three touch-model plans Unlimited automations Unlimited observers

Vitally earns second place on how clearly it is packaged. All three plans carry the same core features, unlimited automations, unlimited observer seats and single sign-on, and what changes is the motion you run: one-to-many, hybrid or one-to-one. That removes the usual game of finding which feature sits behind which tier. Its homepage says more than 600 B2B customer success teams use it, and it pairs health scores with Playbooks, Hubs and pre-built Blueprints so a new CSM can work from templates. A sandbox serves as the trial, which most quote-only rivals do not offer.

Where it falls short

No prices are published, so you cannot compare it with a competitor before a sales call. Its privacy policy says information may be stored anywhere in the world, with no stated region, which is a gap for EU buyers. The sandbox is a trial of the workflow, not of your own data.

Wrong for

A European company that needs a stated data region in its contract, or an enterprise with a large services team. Look at Planhat or Custify.

Pricing: Three plans (Tech-Touch, Hybrid-Touch, High-Touch) with identical core features; no prices published, pricing on request. (free trial)

Visit Vitally →

#3 Custify

Customer success platform for small SaaS teams · Romania · custify.com

Data stored in Germany No setup fees ISO 27001 and SOC 2

Custify ranks third because the company states plainly where the data sits and what it will not charge for. Its site says data is held in secure data centers in Germany, that it is GDPR compliant, ISO 27001 and SOC 2 certified, and that there are no setup fees, which removes a common surprise line item. It lists offices in Bucharest, Munich, London and Novi Sad, so a European support relationship is plausible. It targets small and mid-sized SaaS teams that want health scoring and playbooks without an enterprise implementation.

Where it falls short

Public information is thin: the pricing page we fetched exposed no tiers or figures, and no trial is described. Its reach among large enterprise accounts, and the depth of services automation or portals compared with Planhat, is limited. Roadmap and AI claims should be tested in a demo, not taken from marketing.

Wrong for

A large company with hundreds of CSMs, complex role hierarchies and a services arm. Evaluate Gainsight or Planhat instead.

Pricing: Flexible pricing with no setup fees; the pricing page we fetched showed no tier prices, so figures come from a sales conversation. (none)

Visit Custify →

#4 Gainsight

Enterprise customer success platform and product family · United States · gainsight.com

Quote only Tiered by users and accounts Product family

Gainsight sits at fourth because the largest vendor in the category cannot take the top three, and it is the benchmark every other product here is measured against. Its pricing page shows how it sizes a deal: Essentials with 10 full users and 100 customers per user, Enterprise with 20 full users and 200 customers per user, both with unlimited viewer licenses. Around the core sits a family: Skilljar by Gainsight for customer education, Product Experience for in-app guides and analytics, Customer Communities, and Staircase AI. For a large CS organization with admins, that breadth is the reason to choose it.

Where it falls short

It asks you to request pricing for most products, and the page we fetched described no hosting regions; the security page lists SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, ISO 27001 and Data Privacy Framework certification but says to consult the trust center for regions. Expect admin overhead and a longer rollout than lighter rivals.

Wrong for

A team of fewer than five CSMs without a dedicated admin. Look at Vitally, Custify or ClientSuccess, which are built for smaller operations.

Pricing: Customer Success Essentials includes 10 full users at 100 customers per user, Enterprise 20 full users at 200 customers per user; viewers unlimited; request pricing. (none)

Visit Gainsight →

#5 ChurnZero

Churn-focused platform with in-app messaging · United States · churnzero.com

Quote only In-app communications Renewal forecasting

ChurnZero fills fifth place as the closest rival to Gainsight on features that is not part of a wider product family. Its homepage lists health scoring, journeys, plays, in-app communications, renewal forecasting and NPS, CSAT and CES surveys in one platform, with more than 50 integrations including Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, Microsoft Teams and Zendesk. The in-app messaging sets it apart for companies that want to reach end users inside the product rather than rely only on email. It suits a mid-sized team whose main job is renewals and retention.

Where it falls short

The homepage gives no pricing, trial or legal entity name beyond a copyright line, and the figures it cites for churn reduction are vendor claims we could not verify. Hosting regions are not stated on the pages we read. Smaller teams may find the module list more than they will configure.

Wrong for

A European buyer who needs a documented data region before talks start, or a team of two that wants a lightweight tool. Look at Custify or Planhat.

Pricing: No prices published on the pages we could load; the pricing URL returned an error, so cost comes from a quote. (none)

Visit ChurnZero →

#6 ClientSuccess

Customer success platform with SuccessScore health tracking · United States · clientsuccess.com

Package tiers by customers No setup fees Implementation 4-6 weeks

ClientSuccess lands sixth because it is unusually open about how its packages are drawn. The pricing page names three: Startup up to 500 customers and 10 licenses, Growth up to 5,000 customers and 50 licenses, and Enterprise with no stated limit, with no implementation fees and annual contracts discounted against month-to-month. It states implementation takes 4 to 6 weeks. It reads calls through meeting intelligence, adds branded portals and recently bought Product Signals for product feedback. It is a sensible choice for a smaller team that wants predictable bands.

Where it falls short

There is no self-serve trial: the vendor says it offers demos and proof-of-concept work instead. Prices are not shown, and its claim of being 30 to 50 percent cheaper than Gainsight is its own marketing. The privacy policy names AWS as a sub-processor without stating a region.

Wrong for

Anyone who wants to test with their own data before talking to sales, or who needs stated EU hosting. Look at Vitally's sandbox or at Custify.

Pricing: Startup package up to 500 customers and 10 licenses, Growth up to 5,000 customers and 50 licenses, Enterprise unlimited; prices on request, no setup fees. (none)

Visit ClientSuccess →

#7 HubSpot Service Hub

CRM-native customer success workspace · United States · hubspot.com

Published prices Free plan Inside HubSpot CRM

HubSpot Service Hub is seventh because the biggest names are held out of the top three and because it is a workspace, not a stand-alone platform. Its pricing page publishes every tier: free for up to 2 users, Starter from $7 per seat per month, Professional from $90 and Enterprise from $150, and lists the Customer Success Workspace with health scores on Professional and Enterprise. For a team already living in HubSpot CRM, the account records and tickets are already there, which skips the connector project that dominates other rollouts.

Where it falls short

The workspace is not on the free or Starter tier, and per-seat Professional pricing adds up for large teams. It has fewer journey, renewal forecasting and lifecycle automation controls than the dedicated platforms here, and it assumes your data already lives in HubSpot.

Wrong for

A company on Salesforce or another CRM, or a team that needs deep renewal management and product usage scoring. Look at Gainsight, ChurnZero or Vitally.

Pricing: Service Hub lists a free plan for up to 2 users, Starter from $7 per seat per month, Professional from $90 and Enterprise from $150; the workspace is in the last two. (free plan)

Visit HubSpot Service Hub →

#8 Totango

Customer success platform now branded Odie · United States · totango.com

Quote only EU region available Catalyst merged

Totango takes eighth place because the product line is in flux. The homepage now says Totango has rebranded to Odie, a customer knowledge engine, while still listing Totango as a customer success platform and Catalyst as a customer growth platform. On the plus side, its privacy policy lists AWS in North Virginia and in Germany, so an EU region exists for a US vendor. Teams that already run Totango or Catalyst have a long record to keep, but a new buyer should expect the roadmap to be explained at length.

Where it falls short

The rebrand, the Catalyst merger and a separate Odie product make it hard for a newcomer to know which product they are buying and what it will cost. Pricing and trial terms are not on the pages we read, and the headquarters address is not stated in its policies.

Wrong for

A buyer who wants a stable, single-brand roadmap and published pricing from day one. Look at ChurnZero, Vitally or ClientSuccess instead.

Pricing: No prices on the pages we fetched; its pricing URL returned an error and the homepage points to demos. (none)

Visit Totango →

#9 Velaris

AI-native customer success for B2B SaaS · United Kingdom · velaris.io

5-user base license Unlimited viewers UK data storage

Velaris ranks ninth because it is the youngest product here, with a pricing structure that is still unusually legible. The pricing page describes a base license of 5 users with unlimited viewers, with the Customer Portal and Support products sold as add-ons, organized around View, Analyze, Orchestrate and Execute. It states SOC 2, ISO and GDPR compliance, 70-plus integrations, and its privacy policy says personal data is stored in the United Kingdom. UK and EU SaaS companies that want a local vendor and AI agents will find it worth a demo.

Where it falls short

Its legal entity is MANANTIAL LTD, company number 13088838, registered in England and Wales, and neither its pricing nor terms pages gave a street address. It targets mid-market and enterprise, so the entry cost may be high for a small team. Its customer base is smaller than the older rivals ranked above it.

Wrong for

A small team that needs a published entry price, or a company that requires an established vendor with years of references. Look at ClientSuccess or ChurnZero.

Pricing: Base license of 5 users with unlimited viewers; Customer Portal and Support are separate add-ons; custom estimate on request. (none)

Visit Velaris →

#10 SmartKarrot

Customer success platform with published entry plan · United States · smartkarrot.com

Published entry price Tiers by users and products Outcome-based option

SmartKarrot ranks tenth. It is one of the few vendors to print a number: Basic is listed from $15,000 a year with 5 users and 2 integrations, Growth has 10 users, 1 SaaS product and 3 integrations, and Pro has 25 users, 3 products and 4 integrations. Its Karrot+ extensions add call intelligence, a virtual assistant, embedded BI, an internal community and a customer portal. It also mentions user-based or outcome-based pricing, which is worth asking about if you want fees tied to retention results rather than seats.

Where it falls short

The $15,000 entry price is above what a very small team can justify, and Growth, Pro and Enterprise require a call. Several useful modules are paid extensions. The privacy policy says data may be stored in the United States and outside the EEA without naming other regions.

Wrong for

A European company that needs EU-only data hosting, or a team with a budget well under $15,000 a year. Look at Custify or the HubSpot workspace.

Pricing: Basic from $15,000 a year with 5 users and 2 integrations; Growth with 10 users, Pro with 25 users, Enterprise custom, all via sales. (none)

Visit SmartKarrot →

#11 Staircase AI

Conversation analysis for churn and expansion signals · United States · gainsight.com

Gainsight-owned Zero data entry ISO 27001 and 42001

Staircase AI ranks eleventh because it covers one layer of the job rather than the whole platform. Its page says it analyzes emails, support tickets, chats and meetings to surface churn risk, expansion opportunities and disengaged stakeholders, with no manual logging, and about an hour of setup. It lists ISO 27001 and ISO 42001 certification, PII anonymization and role-based access. The page also says it works as a standalone product and alongside Gainsight CS, so a team that dislikes its current health score can add a conversation signal without replacing the platform.

Where it falls short

It is owned by Gainsight, now sits on gainsight.com, and the old staircase.ai domain redirects there, so independence from a large vendor is limited. No pricing or trial is published. It is a signal source, not a workspace: you still need playbooks, tasks and renewals somewhere else.

Wrong for

A team that needs a full customer success workspace in one product. Look at Vitally, ChurnZero or Planhat, which include playbooks and renewals.

Pricing: No prices on its page; visitors are directed to schedule demos. (none)

Visit Staircase AI →

#12 Churnkey

Cancel flows and payment recovery for subscriptions · United States · churnkey.co

Priced by churned revenue 14-day trial Open-source SDK

Churnkey is last because it solves a narrower problem than a customer success platform, though it does so with the clearest pricing on the list. It prices by average monthly churned revenue across four tiers, fixes the price for 12 months, offers a 14-day trial without a card on Starter, and includes an open-source SDK on all plans. For a subscription business where most customers cancel through a self-serve screen and never meet a CSM, a cancel flow with offers and failed-payment recovery can matter more than a health dashboard.

Where it falls short

It does not manage accounts, renewals, success plans or onboarding, so it cannot replace a customer success platform. Pricing per churned dollar means the bill rises with your losses. Its terms page names no legal entity or address, and the headquarters location comes from third-party sources, not the vendor.

Wrong for

A B2B company selling six-figure contracts through account managers, where churn is a relationship problem. Look at Gainsight, Planhat or ChurnZero instead.

Pricing: Four tiers priced by average monthly churned revenue, Starter in the low hundreds of dollars a month, Core and Intelligence higher, Enterprise custom; 14-day trial. (free trial)

Visit Churnkey →

What the data says about this market

Counted from our own list of twelve products, nine publishers are based in the United States (Gainsight and its subsidiary product Staircase AI, ChurnZero, Totango, Vitally, ClientSuccess, SmartKarrot, HubSpot and Churnkey), while the other three are European: Planhat in Sweden, Custify in Romania and Velaris in the United Kingdom. That split matters for hosting and contracts more than for features. It also explains why the leading enterprise names tend to answer data-residency questions with a trust-center link rather than a plain sentence on a pricing page.

Pricing transparency is thin. Three of the twelve, SmartKarrot, HubSpot and Churnkey, state a starting price on their own pages, and only one, HubSpot, publishes a free plan, which does not include its customer success workspace. The rest are quote-only, usually priced by user and account band, with annual contracts. Vendors positioning against the incumbent often say so openly: ClientSuccess describes itself as 30 to 50 percent cheaper than enterprise platforms like Gainsight, a claim from its own pricing page that we could not test independently.

Consolidation and AI are the two themes. Catalyst was acquired by Totango, which now markets under the Odie name; Gainsight owns Staircase AI as well as its communities, adoption and academy products; Planhat now describes itself as an agentic platform covering customer success, CRM and professional services automation. Every vendor on this page leads with AI agents, but the useful question is narrower: does the AI read the data you already have, and can a CSM correct it? Buyers in the EU should also keep in mind that only 11.34 percent of EU27 enterprises bought CRM as a paid cloud service in 2023 (Eurostat), so paid cloud tooling around customer data is far from universal.

The 12 ranked vendors, counted

  • Headquarters by region: North America 9, Europe 3
  • By country: United States 9, Romania 1, Sweden 1, United Kingdom 1
  • Pricing model: Quote only 10, Per seat / month 1, Usage-based 1
  • Free option: None 9, Free trial 2, Free plan 1

Counted from the 12 vendors on this page. More in our market data.

For the wider market behind customer success software, read our report Enterprise Software Adoption in the European Union, or browse all industry reports.

How to choose

  1. Count accounts per CSM before you look at products

    Write down the number of paying accounts, the number of people who own retention, and the share of revenue in your top twenty customers. Those three numbers decide the product class. Under roughly a hundred accounts with a founder still on renewals, a spreadsheet and your CRM will do the job, and a platform adds meetings without adding insight. Between a hundred and a few thousand accounts, a mid-weight tool with tiered plans, such as the ones ranked at the top here, is the target. Above that, or with a services team, you are choosing between enterprise suites on orchestration and reporting depth. Also decide whether your motion is one-to-one, one-to-many, or both, because vendors package those differently and price them differently.

  2. Test the connectors against your own messy data

    Ask each shortlisted vendor to load a real export before you sign: your CRM accounts, one product usage source and a month of support tickets. Watch how it handles duplicate accounts, parent and child companies and users who belong to two customers. Ask a CSM on your team, not an admin, to build a health score and a renewal playbook while you watch, and time it. Confirm in writing where the data is hosted, whether usage events are priced separately, and what the export of timelines and score history looks like. Reference calls should be with a company of your size that left a different vendor, because they know the migration cost, which a happy new customer does not.

  3. Price two years, including growth and the AI add-on

    Get the quote at today's account count, at double the count, and with every module you realistically want, such as a customer portal, survey tool, call recording or the AI assistant. Several vendors sell these separately, so a headline license can understate the real bill by a wide margin. Ask about the renewal uplift cap and whether seat or account bands reset on renewal. Compare vendors on cost per managed account rather than cost per seat, because seat-based and account-based quotes only line up on that measure. If a platform costs more than a junior CSM salary and your team is two people, put that sum next to the revenue you realistically expect to save before you commit to a multi-year term.

Questions and answers

What is the best customer success software in 2026?

Planhat leads this ranking: one platform that can run as a customer success tool, a CRM or professional services automation, EU or US hosting by customer choice, and ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II certification on its security page. Vitally is the better pick for a mid-sized team that wants three plans organized by touch model and a quick start, and Custify suits a smaller SaaS team that wants German data hosting and no setup fees. Pricing for all three is quote-based.

Do I need customer success software, or is my CRM enough?

A CRM is enough while one or two people know every account by name and renewals are few. Once health depends on product usage, support volume and billing together, the CRM becomes a place where someone types notes. HubSpot's Customer Success Workspace, on its Professional and Enterprise Service Hub tiers, is the in-between option for teams already on HubSpot.

How much does customer success software cost?

Most vendors publish no figures. SmartKarrot lists a Basic plan from $15,000 a year with 5 users and 2 integrations. HubSpot lists Service Hub Professional, which includes its customer success workspace, from $90 per seat per month. Gainsight, Planhat, Vitally, ClientSuccess and Velaris quote by users or account bands. Expect an annual contract, and ask for the price at twice your account count.

What is the difference between Gainsight and ChurnZero?

Both are US-built platforms for health scores, journeys and renewals. Gainsight sells a wider family: customer success, Skilljar academies, product experience and communities, plus Staircase AI, sized by full users and customers per user. ChurnZero describes a more compact platform around health scoring, plays, in-app communications and surveys. Gainsight is the one to evaluate when a services team and a larger CS operation need breadth.

Is a free customer success platform worth using?

Rarely for the core job. Among these twelve, HubSpot is the only vendor with a published free plan, and the customer success workspace is on its paid Professional and Enterprise tiers. Churnkey offers a 14-day trial with no card, and Vitally offers a sandbox. A free CRM with a manual health field is a reasonable bridge until you have enough accounts to justify a quote.

What happened to Catalyst and Staircase AI?

Catalyst's own site says it was acquired by Totango and now operates as a Totango product, and Totango's homepage lists Totango, Catalyst and a newer product called Odie. Staircase.ai redirects to a page on Gainsight's site, which describes it as usable standalone or alongside Gainsight CS. We rank Totango and Staircase AI, and do not list Catalyst separately.

Where is my customer data stored with these tools?

It varies. Custify states data is stored in Germany, Totango's privacy policy lists AWS North Virginia and AWS Germany, Velaris says personal data is stored in the United Kingdom, and Planhat offers EU or US hosting. Vitally and SmartKarrot do not commit to a region in their policies; SmartKarrot says data may be stored in the United States. Get the region in your contract, not on a sales call.

Can customer success software predict churn?

It scores risk from signals you feed it, such as logins, feature use, ticket volume, overdue invoices and champion changes, and several vendors now add AI that reads emails and calls. That is a ranking of accounts to look at, not a forecast you should trust blindly. Test any predictive claim against last year's churned accounts before relying on it.

How long does implementation take?

ClientSuccess says typically 4 to 6 weeks, and Staircase AI says value starts after roughly one hour of setup because it reads existing communication channels. Platforms that need usage data mapped to accounts take longer, mostly because of your data work, not the vendor's. Plan a quarter for a full rollout with playbooks, and a pilot on one segment first.

Is Churnkey a customer success platform?

Not in the classic sense. Churnkey focuses on subscription cancel flows, failed-payment recovery and reactivation, priced by monthly churned revenue. It complements a platform like Vitally or ChurnZero, which manage the relationship, by catching the customer who cancels through self-serve billing without ever talking to a CSM. We list it last because it covers one slice of the job.

How often is this ranking updated?

We re-check vendor pages, prices and ownership changes on a rolling basis and revise the order when something material changes, such as an acquisition, a new pricing model or a change in hosting. The page shows the date it was last published. Vendors cannot buy a position, and the order reflects how well each product serves a small to mid-sized team.