PIM (Product Information Management) software centralises product data — titles, descriptions, attributes, images, pricing and channel-specific content — so an ecommerce, retail or manufacturing team can enrich a catalogue once and syndicate it consistently across a webshop, marketplaces, print and B2B channels. This ranking is aimed at teams choosing a PIM platform, not at enterprises already standardized on one vendor group-wide. We judged whether a genuinely free or open-source entry point exists, what real ownership sits behind the vendor once acquisitions and pending ownership changes are accounted for, whether pricing is published or quote-only, and whether the product is PIM alone or bundled with broader master data management, digital asset management or CPQ.
Visibility in this ranking can be paid for. Payment moves a vendor's position within the
shortlist; it never adds a vendor, and it never changes a word of the review. The largest vendors in PIM software
cannot hold places 1 to 3. How it works: placement disclosure ·
editorial process.
How we ranked these
Ownership is the fault line in this category, not just headquarters
Eight of the thirteen vendors here are genuinely EU/EEA-headquartered and independently controlled: Akeneo (Nantes, France), Stibo Systems (Aarhus, Denmark, foundation-owned), Ergonode (Poland), Plytix (Málaga, Spain), Sales Layer (Valencia, Spain), Quable (France, part of Berlin-headquartered Ibexa Group), Viamedici (Ettlingen, Germany) and Bluestone PIM (Tønsberg, Norway). The other five complicate the "where is it founded" question in different ways. Salsify and Syndigo are straightforwardly US-headquartered category leaders, though Salsify is mid-acquisition by Cinven, a European PE firm. inRiver is Swedish-headquartered but widely reported to be under US private-equity ownership that this review could not independently re-confirm on the vendor's own site. Contentserv began in Rosenheim, Germany, and now operates under Centric Software, headquartered in Silicon Valley — even though Centric's own parent, Dassault Systèmes, is a publicly listed French company. And Pimcore, based in Salzburg, Austria, has a majority-stake sale to Tenzing, a London-based investor, pending antitrust approval at the time of this review.
Free and open-source entry points are rare, and only two are genuine
Most of this category is quote-only regardless of size: Stibo Systems, Quable, Viamedici, Bluestone PIM, Salsify, Syndigo, inRiver and Contentserv all publish no price at all. Two vendors stand out for a genuinely free, permanent entry point rather than a time-limited trial: Akeneo's Community Edition is free, open-source and self-hosted, and Ergonode's free plan is hosted at €0/year, capped at 1,000 products and 2 users. Pimcore also offers a free open-core Community Edition alongside published on-premises pricing ($9,900 and $29,900/year). Sales Layer's 30-day free trial, with no automatic charge, is longer than the 14-day window common elsewhere, and Plytix publishes flat $179/month pricing for named add-on modules even though its core SKU-tier price is not public.
PIM-only vs. bundled MDM, DAM or CPQ
Several vendors on this list sell more than product content management alone. Stibo Systems' STEP platform treats product information as one of several master-data domains alongside customer, supplier and location data. Viamedici bundles PIM with multi-domain MDM, digital asset management and CPQ (configure-price-quote) logic in one German-built platform, VIAMEDICI EPIM/5, which is particularly relevant for manufacturers selling configurable products. Syndigo's consolidation of 1WorldSync (syndication) and Riversand (MDM/PIM) gives it similar breadth. Pimcore markets itself as a unified data-and-experience-management platform rather than PIM alone. A buyer that wants product content management specifically, without a broader MDM or DAM suite attached, should weigh whether that breadth is worth paying for.
Published pricing structure without a published number
A recurring pattern in this category is publishing the shape of pricing — tier names, user caps, SKU caps — without publishing an actual figure. Sales Layer names exact user and SKU limits at every one of its four tiers (up to 35 users / 200,000 SKUs on Enterprise) without a price. Quable's two tiers (Standard, capped at 50,000 products; Advanced, uncapped) are similarly named but unpriced. Plytix goes further by publishing exact add-on module pricing ($179/month) while keeping its SKU-tier base price private. Only Ergonode and Pimcore publish real currency figures for their non-free tiers.
The 13 tools, reviewed
#1 Akeneo
Free open-source Community Edition, quote-only cloud tiers · France · akeneo.com
Free open-source edition ~400 employees, 900+ customers (vendor stated) Offices across France, Germany, UK, Netherlands, US, Australia
Akeneo is one of the most established names in PIM, founded in Nantes in 2013 and now around 400 employees serving 900+ enterprise customers per its own figures. Its open-source Community Edition is free to self-host, a genuine entry point most competitors on this list don't offer at any price.
Where it falls short
None of the three paid Product Cloud tiers (Growth, Advanced, Premium) publish a price — every commercial conversation starts with a sales call, and moving from the free self-hosted edition to a paid cloud tier later is a real migration project, not a simple upgrade.
Wrong for
A buyer that wants a published price without a sales call at any tier above the free self-hosted edition.
Pricing: Community Edition: free, self-hosted, open-source. Growth, Advanced and Premium editions (hosted Product Cloud): quote-only, no published price. (free self-hosted community edition (open-source))
Visit Akeneo →
#2 Stibo Systems
Foundation-owned enterprise MDM platform, Gartner MQ Leader · Denmark · stibosystems.com
Foundation-owned (Stibo A/S) 2026 Gartner MQ Leader for MDM ~600 employees, 18 offices (vendor stated)
Stibo Systems, tracing to 1976 inside a parent company founded in 1794, is run under the Stibo A/S foundation rather than private-equity or public-market ownership — the company states this insulates it from acquisition and short-term shareholder pressure. It was named a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for Master Data Management Solutions, and states 14 of the Fortune 100 and 42 of the Fortune 500 among its customers.
Where it falls short
No pricing is published anywhere, and the platform is built as a broad multi-domain MDM suite rather than a PIM-only product, which means a buyer who only needs product content management may be paying for domains (customer, supplier, location) it won't use.
Wrong for
A small or mid-market team that wants a self-serve, product-only PIM without buying into a broader MDM platform.
Pricing: Not published; enterprise sales-led, quote-only. (none stated)
Visit Stibo Systems →
#3 Ergonode
Genuine free plan, published annual pricing up to Scale tier · Poland · ergonode.com
Genuine €0 permanent free plan Most transparent pricing in category 6.5M+ products managed (vendor stated)
Ergonode publishes exact annual figures at every named tier up to Scale (€19,990/year), the most transparent pricing structure in this category, and its free plan is a real permanent product — 1,000 products and 2 users — rather than a time-limited trial. The vendor states 6.5 million-plus products managed across 200+ businesses and six-plus years in production.
Where it falls short
Despite a public roadmap and changelog that give it an open-development feel, Ergonode is proprietary SaaS, not open source, so there's no self-hosted option; the free plan's caps will be outgrown quickly by anything beyond a very small catalogue.
Wrong for
A catalogue larger than roughly 1,000 SKUs on the free plan, or a team that specifically wants a self-hosted or open-source deployment.
Pricing: Free plan €0/year (up to 1,000 products, 2 users); Advance €5,990/year; Scale €19,990/year; Enterprise custom-priced. All paid plans billed annually, prices exclude VAT. (free plan (permanent, not a trial: 1,000 products, 2 users))
Visit Ergonode →
#4 Plytix
SKU-count-based PIM for growing brands · Spain · plytix.com
SKU-based pricing structure 500 free AI credits/month on every plan Named clients: Porsche, Unilever, Philips, New Balance, Reebok
Plytix starts from actual SKU count rather than a flat enterprise number, and while the base Standard/Pro/Enterprise prices are not public, its named add-on modules (Plytix AI, channel distribution, Brand Portals) are each a flat, published $179/month — unusual transparency for add-on pricing in this category. Client brands named on its own about page include Porsche, Unilever, Philips, New Balance and Reebok.
Where it falls short
The core SKU-tier price itself is not published anywhere, so a buyer still needs a sales conversation to get a real number even though the add-on pricing is transparent; the vendor doesn't state a founding year.
Wrong for
A buyer who wants to see a complete price, including the base plan, without any sales contact.
Pricing: SKU-count-based tiers (Standard, Pro, Enterprise); base prices not published. Add-on modules (Plytix AI, channel distribution, Brand Portals, Product Data Sheets, Shopify/BigCommerce/Wayfair integrations) are $179/month each. All plans include 500 free AI credits/month. (not stated by the vendor)
Visit Plytix →
#5 Sales Layer
30-day free trial, explicit user/SKU caps per tier · Spain · saleslayer.com
30-day free trial Explicit user/SKU caps at every tier Backed by Sonae, Swanlaab, Plug and Play, Peakspan
Sales Layer, based in Valencia and led by co-founders Álvaro Verdoy and Iban Borràs, names exact user and SKU caps at every tier (up to 35 users / 200,000 SKUs on Enterprise) so a buyer can self-diagnose which tier fits before a sales call. Its 30-day free trial with no automatic charge is longer than the 14-day window common elsewhere in this category.
Where it falls short
No tier publishes an actual price, and the vendor doesn't state a founding year; after the 30-day trial there is no permanent free option.
Wrong for
A buyer that wants a published price rather than a trial-then-quote process.
Pricing: Scale (up to 5 users, 10,000 SKUs), Premium (up to 10 users, 50,000 SKUs), Enterprise (up to 35 users, 200,000 SKUs), Enterprise Plus (unlimited) — all quote-only. Monthly or annual billing. (30-day free trial, no automatic charge afterward; no permanent free tier)
Visit Sales Layer →
#6 Quable
French PIM backed by Berlin-headquartered Ibexa Group · France · quable.com
Part of Ibexa Group (Berlin, Germany) since 2023 AI "Agentic Core" at both tiers 300+ clients (vendor stated)
Quable, founded in France in 2013, joined Ibexa Group in 2023 for what the company describes as greater scale and shared AI/engineering capability; Ibexa Group is itself headquartered in Berlin, Germany. Both published tiers include Quable's AI "Agentic Core" foundation feature, and Advanced removes all product, channel and seat caps.
Where it falls short
Neither tier publishes a price, and there's no confirmed free trial; as part of a six-brand group since 2023, the roadmap is no longer set by Quable alone.
Wrong for
A buyer wanting an independently operated single-product PIM startup rather than a brand inside a larger software group.
Pricing: Standard (up to 50,000 products, unlimited channels/seats) and Advanced (unlimited products/channels/seats, adds data modelling, automation and SDK) — both quote-only. (not stated by the vendor)
Visit Quable →
#7 Viamedici
PIM + MDM + DAM + CPQ bundled in one German platform · Germany · viamedici.com
Bundles PIM + MDM + DAM + CPQ 100M+ records managed (vendor stated) German-registered (Amtsgericht Mannheim)
Viamedici Software GmbH, registered in Ettlingen, Germany, bundles product information management with master data management, digital asset management and CPQ configuration-pricing logic in one platform — a broader single-vendor scope than most PIM-only competitors, and particularly relevant for manufacturers selling configurable products. It states 100M+ records managed across 40+ languages and 60+ markets.
Where it falls short
No pricing of any kind is published, not even a starting tier name, and the vendor is less internationally known outside the DACH region than several competitors on this list.
Wrong for
A buyer that wants to self-evaluate pricing before a demo call, or one that only needs product content management without MDM/DAM/CPQ bundled in.
Pricing: Not published; quote-only after a demo. (none stated)
Visit Viamedici →
#8 Bluestone PIM
Norwegian usage-priced "Agentic PIM", flexible 3-12 month contracts · Norway · bluestonepim.com
Usage-based pricing Contracts as short as 3 months Merged with WebOn (2018); VC-backed (2024)
Bluestone PIM AS, headquartered in Tønsberg, Norway (EEA), prices by actual usage rather than a fixed tier and offers contract terms as short as three months, more flexible than the annual-only commitments common elsewhere in this category. Founded 2016, it merged with ecommerce services provider WebOn in 2018 and took growth investment from Scale Leap Capital and Narwhal Investments in 2024.
Where it falls short
No pricing figure of any kind is published, not even an indicative starting number, and there's no stated free trial.
Wrong for
A buyer that wants to see an indicative price range without sharing usage data directly with sales.
Pricing: Usage-based; no published starting price. Contracts typically run 3–12 months. (none stated)
Visit Bluestone PIM →
#9 Salsify
US PXM category leader, quote-only, being acquired by Cinven · United States · salsify.com
Category leader Delaware-incorporated (Salsify, Inc.) Cinven acquisition announced 2026
Salsify is one of the best-known names in this category, Delaware-incorporated as Salsify, Inc., and in 2026 the company announced it is being acquired by Cinven, a European private equity firm — though Salsify itself remains US-headquartered, so this is a change in who ultimately controls it rather than a relocation.
Where it falls short
No pricing appears anywhere on the vendor's site, so a buyer cannot size a likely deal without a sales conversation, and the pending Cinven acquisition adds a layer of ownership uncertainty during the transition.
Wrong for
A buyer that wants published pricing before any sales contact, or one specifically avoiding vendors mid-acquisition.
Pricing: Not published; quote-only, every plan requires a sales conversation. (none stated)
Visit Salsify →
#10 Syndigo
Chicago-based network, absorbed 1WorldSync and Riversand · United States · syndigo.com
Absorbed 1WorldSync (syndication) Absorbed Riversand (MDM/PIM) Chicago-headquartered
Syndigo, headquartered in Chicago, has consolidated two other well-known names in adjacent categories: 1WorldSync's product-content-syndication site and Riversand's MDM/PIM site both now 301-redirect into Syndigo's own domain, confirming both are now part of the same company. That gives Syndigo unusual breadth across syndication and master data management in one group.
Where it falls short
No pricing is published anywhere, and the consolidation of three formerly separate brands (Syndigo, 1WorldSync, Riversand) into one means a buyer researching any of the three names should expect to end up talking to the same sales organisation.
Wrong for
A buyer that wants a single-purpose, standalone tool rather than a multi-brand consolidated platform.
Pricing: Not published; quote-only. (none stated)
Visit Syndigo →
#11 inRiver
Swedish-headquartered PIM, reported US private-equity ownership · Sweden · inriver.com
Founded 2007 1,600+ brands stated (Michelin, New Balance, John Deere) Reported US PE ownership (unconfirmed on vendor site)
inRiver is headquartered in Malmö, Sweden, founded in 2007, and states more than 1,600 brands as customers, including Michelin, New Balance and John Deere. Industry coverage widely reports it as owned by a US private equity firm; this review could not independently re-confirm the current owner on inRiver's own site, so treat that ownership detail as unconfirmed rather than vendor-stated fact.
Where it falls short
No pricing of any kind is published, and the exact current ownership structure is not disclosed on the vendor's own pages, which matters to a buyer specifically evaluating jurisdiction or ownership.
Wrong for
A buyer for whom confirmed, vendor-stated ownership transparency is a hard requirement.
Pricing: Not published; quote-only. (none stated)
Visit inRiver →
#12 Contentserv
German-origin PXM, now run under Silicon Valley-based Centric Software · Germany · contentserv.com
Originally Rosenheim, Germany Now part of Centric Software (Silicon Valley, US) Ultimate parent: Dassault Systèmes (France, publicly listed)
Contentserv began in Rosenheim, Germany, and is now folded into Centric Software's product line. Centric Software is itself headquartered in Silicon Valley, California, and describes itself as a subsidiary of Dassault Systèmes, the publicly listed French software group — so the ownership chain runs Germany-founded product, now a US-headquartered operating company, under a French-listed ultimate parent. That's worth knowing before assuming a German company name still means German operations.
Where it falls short
No pricing is published, and the product's original German identity is now secondary to Centric's own US-headquartered branding and sales organisation.
Wrong for
A buyer who specifically wants a product still operated as an independent German company rather than folded into a larger US-headquartered suite.
Pricing: Not published; quote-only. (none stated)
Visit Contentserv →
#13 Pimcore
Austrian open-core platform, majority-stake sale to UK investor pending · Austria · pimcore.com
Open-core with free community edition 2026 Gartner MQ for MDM Tenzing (London) acquiring majority stake, pending antitrust approval
Pimcore GmbH, registered in Salzburg, Austria, is one of the few vendors in this category with published on-premises pricing ($9,900 and $29,900/year) alongside a free open-core Community Edition, and it was included in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for MDM for a second time. In 2026 the company announced that its majority owner, German growth-equity firm Nordwind Growth, agreed to sell its stake to Tenzing, a London-based investor in European B2B software, a deal still conditional on antitrust approval at the time of this review.
Where it falls short
The pending sale to Tenzing means Pimcore's ownership is in transition; once complete, its controlling shareholder would be UK-based rather than EU/EEA-based, which is why this review does not list Pimcore on any EU/EEA-only ranking.
Wrong for
A buyer with a hard EU/EEA-only ownership requirement, given the pending UK-based majority-stake acquisition.
Pricing: Free open-core Community Edition. Professional Edition: $9,900/year (on-premises). Enterprise Edition: $29,900/year (on-premises). PaaS: custom-quoted. All editions include unlimited products, assets, sites and users — no per-seat charges. (free open-core community edition)
Visit Pimcore →
What the data says about this market
Of the thirteen vendors ranked here, eight are genuinely EU/EEA-headquartered and independently controlled, a notably deep bench for a single enterprise software category: Akeneo and Quable from France, Stibo Systems from Denmark, Ergonode from Poland, Plytix and Sales Layer from Spain, Viamedici from Germany, and Bluestone PIM from Norway (EEA). Three of the five remaining vendors carry a more complicated ownership story than their founding history suggests: inRiver is Swedish-headquartered but reportedly under US private-equity ownership; Contentserv began in Germany but now operates under Silicon Valley-headquartered Centric Software, itself a subsidiary of the publicly listed French group Dassault Systèmes; and Pimcore, based in Salzburg, Austria, has a pending majority-stake sale to a London-based investor. Salsify and Syndigo round out the list as straightforwardly US-headquartered category leaders, though Salsify's announced 2026 acquisition by European PE firm Cinven is itself a reminder that ownership in this category moves in both directions.
Free and open-source entry points remain the exception rather than the rule. Akeneo's self-hosted Community Edition and Pimcore's open-core Community Edition are the two vendors here offering a genuinely free way to run real PIM software without talking to sales, and Ergonode's hosted €0 plan (1,000 products, 2 users) is the only fully-hosted permanent free tier in the list. Every other vendor, including both US category leaders, sells entirely through a quote-only sales process with no published starting number.
Product scope is quietly expanding at the edges of this category. Stibo Systems and Syndigo (via its Riversand acquisition) both extend from PIM into broader master data management; Viamedici adds CPQ configuration-pricing logic on top of PIM, MDM and DAM in a single German platform; and Pimcore markets itself as a unified data-and-experience-management platform rather than PIM specifically. A buyer comparing a pure-PIM vendor like Ergonode or Sales Layer against one of these broader platforms is, in practice, comparing a point solution against a suite — worth sorting out before comparing price.
The 13 ranked vendors, counted
- Headquarters by region: Europe 10, North America 3
- By country: France 2, Germany 2, Spain 2, United States 2, Austria 1, Denmark 1, Norway 1, Poland 1, Sweden 1
- Pricing model: Quote only 6, Free + published annual tiers 1, Free open-core + published on-premises tiers + custom PaaS 1, Free open-source + quote-only paid tiers 1, SKU-based tiers, quote-only base price 1, Tiered, quote-only 1, Two-tier, quote-only 1, Usage-based, quote-only 1
- Free option: None stated 7, Not stated by the vendor 2, 30-day free trial, no automatic charge afterward; no permanent free tier 1, Free open-core Community Edition 1, Free plan (permanent, not a trial: 1,000 products, 2 users) 1, Free self-hosted Community Edition (open-source) 1
Counted from the 13 vendors on this page. More in our market data.
For the wider market behind PIM software, read our report The Global Shift to ICT Services,
or browse all industry reports.
Questions and answers
What is the best PIM software in 2026?
Akeneo leads this ranking: it's one of the most established names in the category and the only vendor with both a large enterprise customer base and a genuinely free, open-source, self-hosted Community Edition. Stibo Systems is the strongest pick for a large enterprise that wants product data folded into broader master data management, and Ergonode is the best starting point for a small team that wants a real free plan without self-hosting.
Which of these vendors are genuinely EU or EEA headquartered and independently controlled?
Eight: Akeneo and Quable (France), Stibo Systems (Denmark), Ergonode (Poland), Plytix and Sales Layer (Spain), Viamedici (Germany), and Bluestone PIM (Norway, EEA). Quable is part of Ibexa Group, itself headquartered in Berlin, Germany, so it remains EU-controlled despite no longer being an independent startup.
Is there a free PIM tool in this category?
Two vendors offer a genuinely free, permanent entry point rather than a trial: Akeneo's Community Edition (open-source, self-hosted) and Pimcore's Community Edition (open-core, self-hosted). Ergonode's free plan is the only fully-hosted permanent free tier, capped at 1,000 products and 2 users. Sales Layer offers a 30-day free trial, longer than the category norm but not permanent.
Is inRiver owned by a US private equity firm?
Industry coverage widely reports this, but this review could not independently re-confirm the current owner on inRiver's own website during our research. inRiver's headquarters remain in Malmö, Sweden. Treat the private-equity ownership claim as reported but not vendor-confirmed.
Is Contentserv still a German company?
Its product originated in Rosenheim, Germany, but Contentserv now operates under Centric Software, which is headquartered in Silicon Valley, California. Centric Software's own parent company is Dassault Systèmes, a publicly listed French software group — so the ownership chain runs from a US-headquartered operating company up to a French-listed ultimate parent, which is a different fact than either "German" or "American" alone.
What's happening with Pimcore's ownership?
Pimcore GmbH is registered in Salzburg, Austria. In 2026 the company announced that its majority owner, German growth-equity firm Nordwind Growth, agreed to sell its stake to Tenzing, a London-based investor in European B2B software. The deal was still conditional on antitrust approval at the time of this review, so Pimcore's post-sale ownership structure should be confirmed directly with the vendor before treating it as final.
Which PIM tools also handle broader master data management (MDM)?
Stibo Systems and Viamedici both do natively. Syndigo gained MDM breadth through its acquisition of Riversand. Pimcore markets itself as a unified data-and-experience-management platform rather than PIM specifically.
Which PIM vendor bundles CPQ (configure-price-quote) alongside product data?
Viamedici, through its VIA/Configuration module inside the VIAMEDICI EPIM/5 platform — relevant specifically for manufacturers selling configurable products, a use case most PIM-only vendors on this list don't address.
Is there a fee to be listed in this ranking?
Visibility in this ranking can be paid for. Payment can move a vendor's position within the shortlist; it never adds a vendor that doesn't belong here and never changes a word of a review. The largest vendors in PIM software cannot hold places 1 to 3. Full details are on our placement disclosure and editorial process pages.
How often is this ranking updated?
Whenever a fact underneath it changes: a pricing update, an acquisition or ownership change, a certification gained or lost, or a product that stops being maintained. Pimcore's pending Tenzing acquisition and Salsify's pending Cinven acquisition are both flagged in this guide specifically because they were still in progress at the time of research and should be re-checked before a purchase decision.