People look past Blender for reasons other than price, which is nothing: a machine that no longer meets its requirements, a need for a narrower tool, or a wish to publish a scene on the web by link. Most go to Cinema 4D, Houdini or ZBrush, and web-only users to Spline.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. The first three alternatives
go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the
established names follow in their ranked order. How it works:
placement disclosure · editorial process.
What each alternative does differently
A Maxon subscription whose plan includes the Redshift renderer, five Team Render nodes and Maxon Capsules, with a MyMaxon account and EULA required. Maxon offers a 14-day trial through the Maxon App. Its FAQ lists import of OBJ, FBX, Alembic, USD, glTF and CAD formats such as STEP.
Switch from Blender if you do motion graphics and want a renderer, render nodes and a vendor contract in one subscription.
Company website → · Where Cinema 4D ranks and why
SideFX sells a free Apprentice edition for personal non-commercial work, which renders with a watermark. Indie costs $299 for one year or $449 for two, for revenue under 100K USD, with three licenses per studio. Commercial Core and FX are sold as perpetual or rental licenses.
Switch from Blender if you build effects or procedural worlds and want a license ladder with a stated indie tier.
Company website → · Where Houdini ranks and why
Maxon describes ZBrush as a sculpting, modeling and painting tool with more than 200 proprietary brushes and native support for Windows on Arm. The plan includes free ZBrush on iPad and Redshift CPU, and needs a MyMaxon account. The page shows no price figures.
Switch from Blender if your work is character or creature sculpting and you want a dedicated brush set.
Company website → · Where ZBrush ranks and why
4. LightWave 3D
United Kingdom
Sold as a one-time license at £795 excluding sales tax, with upgrades at £450 from the 2025 version and £550 from 2024 or earlier, through a Shopify store. The site describes it for Windows and Mac and keeps documentation online for the 2024, 2025 and 2026 releases.
Switch from Blender if you want a one-time license with priced upgrades instead of an open source project.
Company website → · Where LightWave 3D ranks and why
A browser editor with a free plan that exports to the web with a watermark. Hobby is $12 per seat a month billed annually ($15 monthly), Pro $25 ($30) and Max $60 ($70). Code and self-hosted exports sit in the plan above Max, and AI credits come with each seat.
Switch from Blender if the end product is an interactive scene on a web page and you want to design it in a browser.
Company website → · Where Spline ranks and why
6. Nomad Sculpt
Not stated
The desktop version is free to download and try with no account. One key at about $35 covers two computers, and mobile versions are bought separately in app stores. The vendor does not accept purchase orders. The key is checked online, and the app works offline for 15 days.
Switch from Blender if you sculpt on a tablet or want a one-time purchase for a small sculpting app.
Company website → · Where Nomad Sculpt ranks and why
A free forever plan includes core shapes, real-time collaboration and import and export of 3D models. Pro is $9.99 a month billed annually ($119.88 a year) with 12,000 AI credits a month and 4K output. Team is $19.99 per seat a month and Enterprise starts at $119.99.
Switch from Blender if you want quick shape-based models and a cheap per-seat plan with AI credits.
Company website → · Where Womp ranks and why
A browser tool whose free plan allows 5 projects and 1 seat and includes 3D import, private share links and animations. Starter lists 25 projects and 2 seats, Team 250 projects and 5 seats with CAD import, and Business is custom with a Viewer API, WebXR and app-free augmented reality.
Switch from Blender if you publish product viewers or augmented reality and prefer project and seat limits to a manual.
Company website → · Where Vectary ranks and why
9. Daz Studio
United States
Daz Studio and the Daz Install Manager are a free download after registering with name, email and password. The store sells Genesis 9 and 8.1 figures, and the site lists exporters to Blender, Maya, Unreal, Unity, 3ds Max and Cinema 4D. Premier, Plus and Base memberships exist.
Switch from Blender if you pose and render ready-made figures and do not model from scratch.
Company website → · Where Daz Studio ranks and why
10. Marvelous Designer
Not stated
Priced in USD: Individual 23.3 a month billed annually, Student 8.25 a month, Enterprise Single 199 per seat a month and Enterprise Team 2,000 per seat a year. An Indie plan covers up to 5 users. A 2-week free trial is offered, on Mac and Windows.
Switch from Blender if you make clothing and want a pattern-based garment tool next to your main program.
Company website → · Where Marvelous Designer ranks and why
A Mac-only program from MW3D-Solutions. Version 8 adds native Apple Silicon and Metal support and USDZ import and export. The site lists exchange in FBX, STL, 3DS, OBJ, DAE, SCN and USDZ, UV unwrapping, joint-based animation and a global illumination renderer, and offers a download.
Switch from Blender if you work only on a Mac and want a smaller modeler from a single publisher.
Company website → · Where Cheetah3D ranks and why
Questions and answers
Which formats can I export from Blender?
The manual lists Alembic, USD, OBJ, FBX, PLY and STL, plus glTF 2.0 through an add-on. It also covers BVH motion capture and SVG for curves and Grease Pencil. Popular formats are enabled by default, and the others are switched on in Preferences.
Do I have to cancel anything to leave Blender?
No subscription is needed to use Blender, since the license is the GNU General Public License and the download needs no registration. If you give a monthly contribution to the Development Fund, that is a separate arrangement with the foundation. Blender Studio is a separate subscription at studio.blender.org.
Does Blender have a renewal price?
No. The software is free and the foundation states its main income is Development Fund memberships and one-time donations. A newer release is a free download. Renewal prices only appear when you move to a subscription tool such as Cinema 4D or Spline.
Can I keep using Blender on an Intel Mac?
Only with older versions. The requirements page says Blender 4.5 LTS is the last release to support Intel Macs and macOS 11.2, and 5.0 and later need Apple Silicon on macOS 13 or newer. The current download is 5.2.3 LTS.
Will my Blender work belong to me if I switch?
Yes, the license page says you are free to sell your work, and that Blender will always be free to use for commercial work. Your files are yours either way. What a different program can read from them depends on the exchange format you export.
What breaks when I move away from Blender?
Anything the exchange formats do not carry. The manual lists formats, but a target program has to rebuild shaders, and the node-based setups stay in Blender. Test one finished scene in the new program before you commit a project to it.