Visibility in this ranking can be paid for. Payment moves a vendor's position within the
shortlist; it never adds a vendor, and it never changes a word of the review. The largest vendors in route planning software
cannot hold places 1 to 3. Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category,
wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. How it works: placement disclosure ·
editorial process.
The 12 tools, reviewed
#1 Routific
Route optimization and driver app for delivery businesses · Not stated on legal pages · routific.com
Per-order pricing Unlimited drivers Shopify app
Routific charges for orders, not for drivers or seats, so a grocer who adds three part-time drivers for December pays nothing extra. Every feature ships on every plan, which removes the usual tier negotiation, and a free level up to 100 orders lets a new delivery business test real routes.
- Pricing: Per order / month. Free up to 100 orders a month, a flat $150 a month up to 1,000 orders, then 15 cents an order falling to 3 cents above 20,000. Free plan: free plan.
- Best for: Local delivery businesses with seasonal volume
- Strengths: Route optimization with time windows; Free driver app; Live GPS tracking.
Where it falls short
Order-based pricing becomes expensive for a courier with thousands of short drops a month, and an order is counted when scheduled to a route, so re-planning costs nothing but unscheduled spikes do. SMS needs a quote by country.
Wrong for
A courier company with several client accounts, rate cards and a client portal.
Visit Routific →
#2 OptimoRoute
Automated route planning for delivery and field service · United States · optimoroute.com
Per-driver pricing 30-day trial Truck routing
OptimoRoute is the tool for the dispatcher whose problem is constraints. It plans against driver skills, vehicle capacity, priorities and durations, accepts weekly schedules on Pro, and lets a planner modify routes by drag and drop when a customer calls. Prices are public, there is no contract on monthly plans, and no setup fee.
- Pricing: Per driver / month. Lite is $35.10 per driver per month and Pro $44.10 on annual billing (the FAQ quotes $49 per driver monthly for Pro). Free plan: free trial.
- Best for: Mixed delivery and service fleets of 5 to 50 vehicles
- Strengths: Automatic route planning; Driver skills and vehicle capacity; Time windows.
Where it falls short
Each plan caps the number of orders planned at one time: 700 on Lite, 1,000 on Pro, so a large daily batch needs the quote-only tier.
Wrong for
A florist or caterer with one van and a seasonal peak, who would overpay for driver seats.
Visit OptimoRoute →
#3 Upper
Route planning and AI dispatch for multi-stop teams · Canada · upperinc.com
AI dispatch Per-user pricing Add-on heavy
Upper sells two things: a planner that a single driver can use from a phone, and a team product that assigns jobs by skills, capacity and working hours. The newer AI dispatch layer scores every assignment with a confidence value and flags exceptions for a human, which is a more honest design than a black box that just announces a plan.
- Pricing: Per user / month. Starter $40, Professional $48 and Optimize $71 per user per month as listed, with 20% off yearly billing. Free plan: free trial.
- Best for: Distribution and field crews that want automated dispatch
- Strengths: Route optimization; AI driver assignment; Time windows.
Where it falls short
Customer live-tracking links cost $20 per driver extra, capacity optimization $25 per driver and barcode scanning $50 per company, so the quoted tier price understates the real bill. API and webhooks are held for Enterprise.
Wrong for
A courier needing public API access and webhooks on a small plan.
Visit Upper →
#4 Detrack
Delivery tracking and proof of delivery with route planning · Singapore · detrack.com
Unlimited web users Proof of delivery MCP server
Detrack counts only the drivers. Dispatchers, admins and managers are unlimited, which changes the economics for a business with a six-person office and eight vans, where per-seat tools bill the whole office. The Pro plan covers proof of delivery with up to ten photos, signatures, branded notifications and five years of searchable storage.
- Pricing: Per driver / month. Pro is $29 and Advanced $39 per driver app per month, with unlimited web users on both. Free plan: free trial.
- Best for: Delivery firms with big office teams and few drivers
- Strengths: Live driver tracking; Proof of delivery with photos; Branded tracking links.
Where it falls short
Route optimization is not in the cheaper Pro plan, so the headline $29 buys tracking and proof of delivery, not planning. Analytics on Advanced cover the past 30 days.
Wrong for
A dispatcher who needs complex capacity and skill matching across mixed vehicles.
Visit Detrack →
#5 Track-POD
Delivery management with ePOD and route planning · Lithuania · track-pod.com
Driver or order billing ePOD app Offline mode
Track-POD started from the proof-of-delivery problem, and it shows. The driver app collects signatures, photos and barcode scans, works offline and syncs later, and handles cash on delivery and vehicle inspection checks. Planning sits on top of that, aimed at distributors who deliver pallets and cartons to trade customers and need a paper-free delivery note.
- Pricing: Per driver / month. Driver plans run $49, $69 and $89 per driver per month on annual billing (about $10 more month to month) with a three-driver minimum. Free plan: free trial.
- Best for: Wholesale and distribution delivery with signed paperwork
- Strengths: Route planning and optimization; Electronic proof of delivery; Sign on glass.
Where it falls short
It is expensive at small scale. The cheapest driver plan needs three drivers, and the cheapest order plan costs $510 a month, well above Routific's $150 flat fee for 1,000 orders.
Wrong for
A one-van florist or a single-driver courier.
Visit Track-POD →
#6 Route4Me
Route optimization, dispatch and last-mile platform · United States · route4me.com
Multi-depot optimization Truck routing Paid add-ons
Route4Me is a longstanding name that has widened from a route planner to a last-mile platform. Its feature table is the most detailed here: optimization across drivers, vehicles and facilities, mixed-fleet handling, avoidance zones, driver skills, order label scanning and a published SDK. Business Optimization is flagged as the popular tier and Enterprise adds professional services and custom algorithms.
- Pricing: Quote only. The pricing page shows Route Optimization, Business Optimization and Enterprise Optimization tiers, but the amounts did not render for us and several features are paid add-ons or contact-sales items. Free plan: free trial.
- Best for: Larger fleets that need depots and commercial truck routing
- Strengths: Route optimization; Optimization across drivers and facilities; Dynamic reoptimization.
Where it falls short
Commercial vehicle optimization, recurring routing, text messages, the proof-of-delivery workflows and voice-guided navigation are listed as paid add-ons, so the bundle is hard to cost. No prices rendered on the page we fetched, and several rows read contact us.
Wrong for
A small team that wants to see a price, start in an afternoon and pay monthly.
Visit Route4Me →
#7 WorkWave RouteManager
Route planning and dispatch for delivery and service fleets · United States · workwave.com
Per-vehicle pricing Account manager Open API
WorkWave RouteManager is the choice for a business where deliveries vary a lot day to day but the number of vehicles does not. Pricing is by vehicle and explicitly not by delivery, so a busy week costs the same as a quiet one.
- Pricing: Per vehicle / month. RouteManager360 starts as low as $54 per vehicle per month with a four-vehicle minimum. Free plan: none.
- Best for: Four-plus vehicle fleets in food, waste and field service
- Strengths: Route optimization; Dispatching; Driver mobile app.
Where it falls short
The four-vehicle minimum shuts out smaller fleets, the price needs a sales conversation, and there is no free trial on the page. Features such as customer SMS appear in a hover table with no per-plan breakdown.
Wrong for
A one- or two-vehicle owner-operator.
Visit WorkWave RouteManager →
#8 Onfleet
Last-mile delivery management with dispatch and routing · United States · onfleet.com
Task-based pricing Driver app Courier suite
Onfleet is built for an operation where dispatch is a full-time job: grocery, pharmacy, medical, furniture and cannabis delivery run through its tiers. Unlimited users are included from the lowest plan, billing counts a task only when it is completed, and the Scale tier adds auto-dispatch, barcode and ID scanning with age verification, and an operational command center.
- Pricing: Per task / month. Launch starts at $619 a month for 2,500 tasks, Scale at $1,349 for 5,000 and Enterprise at $3,099 for 10,000 or more. Free plan: free trial.
- Best for: Delivery operations with many daily drops
- Strengths: Route optimization; Dispatch and auto-dispatch; Driver mobile app.
Where it falls short
Routing is the weaker half: the Launch plan has only basic optimization and advanced optimization starts at Scale, $1,349 a month. For a business with 300 deliveries a month the floor price makes little sense.
Wrong for
A caterer or florist with a few hundred stops a month.
Visit Onfleet →
#9 MyRouteOnline
Pay-per-address route optimizer with a driver app · Not stated on legal pages · myrouteonline.com
Address credits Unlimited users Pay as you go
MyRouteOnline charges per unique address, with the same address reusable for 30 days at no extra credit, which suits a sales rep, a courier covering a few repeat customers or a tradesperson with irregular jobs. Every plan carries every feature, including multi-day routing, truck-specific routing, a driver app, proof of delivery and API access.
- Pricing: Usage-based. Credit packs from 19 euros a month for 50 addresses, 49 euros for 500 and 99 euros for 1,200, up to 799 euros for 15,000 credits. Free plan: free trial.
- Best for: Owner-operators and small teams with changing stops
- Strengths: Multi-stop optimization; Multi-route and multi-day planning; Truck and fleet routing.
Where it falls short
The credit model punishes high-repeat volume: a driver doing 100 new addresses a day burns the 1,200 pack in two weeks.
Wrong for
A dispatcher assigning 100 stops a day to 10 drivers with live reassignment.
Visit MyRouteOnline →
#10 Zeo Route Planner
Route planner for drivers, fleets and field service · United States · zeorouteplanner.com
Photo address capture Per-seat billing Chrome extension
Zeo is best understood as a phone-first planner that grew a fleet product. A driver can add stops by typing, importing a spreadsheet, uploading a photo of a parcel label, entering coordinates or scanning a QR code, then send the next stop to Google Maps. Fleet Management adds auto-assignment, a live dashboard, recurring routes, branded customer communications and an API.
- Pricing: Per driver / year. Four plans (Route Optimization, Route Management, Fleet Management, Enterprise). Free plan: free trial.
- Best for: Couriers and trades with many addresses added by phone
- Strengths: Route optimization; Stops from image OCR and QR scan; Recurring routes.
Where it falls short
Plan prices are not clearly listed apart from the top tier, and annual per-driver billing is awkward for a seasonal operation. The page mentions a limit of 3 routes per day without saying which plan.
Wrong for
A fleet that needs fixed monthly price transparency before a trial.
Visit Zeo Route Planner →
#11 SimpliRoute
Route optimization and delivery control for logistics teams · Not stated on legal pages · simpliroute.com
Quote only Zone blocking AI agents
SimpliRoute pitches itself at companies that run many drivers and need to adapt to traffic during the day. The optimizer handles time windows, load balancing and open routes, matches vehicles by attribute such as refrigeration, and lets planners block zones. Dock management and per-route invoice generation point to distribution centers.
- Pricing: Quote only. No prices appear on the pages we read; the site routes buyers to a demo or sales conversation. Free plan: none.
- Best for: Mid-sized logistics teams with refrigerated or zoned deliveries
- Strengths: Real-time traffic optimization; Drag-and-drop route editing; Zone blocking.
Where it falls short
No pricing is public, no trial is stated, and no headquarters is given on the pages we read; the terms identify SimpliRoute Inc. and Delaware law. Some of the AI agents are marked coming soon.
Wrong for
A five-van business that wants a price today and a trial this week.
Visit SimpliRoute →
#12 Badger Maps
Route planning and CRM sync for outside sales reps · United States · badgermapping.com
Field sales CRM sync Per-user pricing
Badger Maps belongs here because outside sales is the other big route planning job, and it does it well. The rep opens a map of accounts from the CRM, sees which are due for a visit, builds a route, logs notes by voice and exports an IRS-compliant mileage report.
- Pricing: Per user / month. Business is $58 per user per month annually or $69 monthly. Free plan: free trial.
- Best for: Outside sales teams visiting accounts
- Strengths: Route optimization up to 120 stops; Two-way CRM sync; Mileage reports.
Where it falls short
It has no proof of delivery, no customer ETA notifications and no vehicle capacity logic, because it is a sales tool.
Wrong for
A delivery fleet with time windows, parcels and drivers who need proof of delivery.
Visit Badger Maps →
Questions and answers
What is the best route planning software in 2026?
Routific ranks first of 12, best for local delivery businesses with seasonal volume. OptimoRoute is second (mixed delivery and service fleets of 5 to 50 vehicles) and Upper third (distribution and field crews that want automated dispatch). Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands, wherever the category has them.
Should I pay per driver, per order or per address?
Pick the unit that your business changes least. Per-driver pricing (OptimoRoute, Detrack, Upper) wins when each driver makes many stops. Per-order pricing (Routific, Onfleet) wins for seasonal volume, since a quiet month costs little.
Is there free route planning software that works for a real business?
Routific is the only one in this ranking with a permanent free level: up to 100 orders a month with all features except SMS. Others offer trials: 30 days at OptimoRoute, 14 at Detrack, Onfleet and Badger, 7 at Zeo.
How many stops can route planning software handle?
It depends on the plan, not just the product. OptimoRoute caps orders planned at one time at 700 on Lite and 1,000 on Pro.
Is Google Maps good enough for planning delivery routes?
For fewer than ten stops and a single driver, yes. Beyond that it becomes manual: it gives directions but does not assign stops across drivers, respect time windows or vehicle capacity, record proof of delivery or notify customers.
What is the difference between route planning and fleet management software?
Route planning decides the order and assignment of stops before and during the day. Fleet management software tracks vehicles through telematics hardware: engine data, maintenance, fuel, driver behavior and compliance.
Do I need proof of delivery in the same app as the planner?
Often, yes. When the planner and the driver app are the same product, the completed-stop time, photo and signature arrive in the dispatcher's view without a second login, and a customer dispute is settled from one record.
Can route planning software handle delivery time windows and driver shifts?
Yes, for all delivery-oriented tools in this ranking, but with differing depth. Routific plans with time windows, capacities and driver shifts, OptimoRoute adds driver skills and priorities, and Route4Me and SimpliRoute extend to multiple depots, vehicle attributes and avoidance zones.
Is there route planning software for field sales reps?
Yes, but it is a different product from delivery routing. Badger Maps plans visits from CRM account data, logs notes by voice and produces mileage reports, with integrations for Salesforce, HubSpot, Dynamics, Zoho and Pipedrive.
How much can route planning software save?
Vendors quote savings of 15 to 40 percent in driving time. Routific, for instance, states customers saw 15 to 40 percent less mileage compared with manual planning. Treat these as upper bounds from successful customers.
Can these tools plan routes for trucks, not just vans?
Some can. OptimoRoute lists truck and hazmat routing and commercial truck navigation, Route4Me offers commercial vehicle optimization as a paid add-on, and MyRouteOnline advertises truck and fleet routing in every plan.