Visibility in this ranking can be paid for. Payment gives a vendor more visibility, higher up on the review pages; it never adds a vendor, and it never changes a word of the review. The largest vendors in budgeting apps
cannot hold places 1 to 3. Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category,
wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. How it works: placement disclosure ·
editorial process.
The 11 tools, reviewed
#1 Actual Budget
Open-source envelope budgeting you can host yourself · Not stated · actualbudget.org
Open source Self-hosted Envelope budgeting
Actual Budget answers a question most budgeting apps avoid: what happens to your records if the company stops. The code carries an MIT license and the project lives in a public GitHub organization, which showed activity on the day we checked. Data stays on your device and syncs through a server you run, with optional end-to-end encryption so that even that server sees nothing readable.
- Pricing: Open source. No subscription; the software is free and MIT-licensed, and you host the sync server yourself or on a host such as PikaPods. Free plan: open source.
- Best for: People who want to own their data
- Strengths: Envelope budgeting; Local-first with multi-device sync; Optional end-to-end encryption.
Where it falls short
You are the support desk. Installing Docker, backing up the server and wiring a bank-sync provider are your jobs, and the providers may charge their own fees, which the Actual pages do not state.
Wrong for
Someone who wants to open an app, connect a bank and be done in five minutes, or a household where only one person is technical and everyone else needs support.
Visit Actual Budget →
#2 Tiller
Bank data automated into your own Google Sheet · United States · tiller.com
Spreadsheet Own your data Customizable
Tiller does one thing and it is the reason for its position: it pulls transactions and balances from your accounts into a spreadsheet that belongs to you. The pricing page lists $99 a year after 30 free days, with a refund window that makes the risk window about 60 days.
- Pricing: Flat yearly. $99 per year after a 30-day free trial, with a further 30 days of refund eligibility; sales tax may apply in some states. Free plan: free trial.
- Best for: Spreadsheet users who want full control
- Strengths: Daily bank sync into a sheet; Foundation template; Spreadsheet templates.
Where it falls short
It is a spreadsheet service, not an app with a phone dashboard. You maintain the formulas, and a template update can collide with your edits.
Wrong for
Someone who wants a phone-first app with envelopes, nudges and a finished interface.
Visit Tiller →
#3 Wallet by BudgetBakers
Free manual tracker with paid bank sync and sharing · Czechia · budgetbakers.com
Czech Lifetime option Bank sync
Wallet tells you plainly where the free tier ends. Manual tracking costs nothing; automatic bank sync and shared household accounts need Premium. The product page says one subscription works across iOS, Android and web, and that old records can come in as CSV, XLS or OFX files, which suits anyone leaving a spreadsheet or another app.
- Pricing: Free + paid tiers. Free tier for manual tracking; Premium (bank sync, group sharing) is sold monthly, yearly or as a lifetime plan, with prices shown inside the app. Free plan: free plan.
- Best for: Europeans wanting a free tier first
- Strengths: Manual tracking on the free tier; Bank sync in Premium; Group sharing in Premium.
Where it falls short
We could not read a price: the help center says plans are priced inside the app, and its support pages returned an access block to our fetch. That makes comparison harder, and the lifetime price could not be checked.
Wrong for
A buyer who needs a published price before installing, or a US user who needs MX or Plaid-based bank coverage with US credit unions.
Visit Wallet by BudgetBakers →
#4 Goodbudget
Digital envelope budgeting for households · United States · goodbudget.com
Envelopes Household Free plan
Goodbudget is the plainest version of the envelope idea: split the month into named envelopes and spend only what each holds. The free plan allows ten regular and ten annual or goal envelopes and shares the budget with two mobile devices; Premium lifts the limits and moves to five devices for US $10 a month or $80 a year, both stated on its help page.
- Pricing: Free + paid tiers. Free with 10 regular and 10 annual or goal envelopes; Premium is US $10 per month or $80 per year. Free plan: free plan.
- Best for: Couples who budget by hand
- Strengths: Envelope budgeting; 10 regular and 10 annual envelopes free; Unlimited envelopes in Premium.
Where it falls short
Entering transactions by hand is the working model, and the pages we read did not describe a bank-sync feature, so verify that before relying on it.
Wrong for
A person who wants automatic categories and trend charts, or a freelancer who needs to mix business income into the same view.
Visit Goodbudget →
#5 Spendee
Colorful budgeter with cheap paid tiers · Czechia · spendee.com
Czech Budget limits Shared wallets
Spendee prices in three steps and shows all of them on one page. Basic is free and includes bank sync, automatic categorization and import and export; Plus at $14.99 a year adds unlimited wallets and budgets and sharing; Premium at $35.99 a year sits on the same list. It claims connections to more than 2,500 providers worldwide, behind a country selector.
- Pricing: Free + paid tiers. Basic is free. Free plan: free plan.
- Best for: Light users on a small budget
- Strengths: Bank sync; Automatic categorization; Backup and sync.
Where it falls short
The free tier allows one cash wallet and one budget, so a household outgrows it quickly. Budgets are described as available on iOS and Android, with web listed as coming soon, and the pages do not say which aggregator it uses.
Wrong for
A buyer who plans in a browser all day, or anyone who needs envelope rules and a zero-based method.
Visit Spendee →
#6 Emma
UK money app built on Open Banking · United Kingdom · emma-app.com
UK Open Banking Credit score
Emma is the one entry here built around the UK. Its privacy notice names Emma Technologies Ltd, registered in England and Wales under number 10578464, and describes accounts connected through Open Banking providers and regulated aggregators. The core app is free once you connect a current, savings or credit account, and paid plans add features such as offline accounts in Pro.
- Pricing: Free + paid tiers. Free to use; paid Plus, Pro and Ultimate plans are bought in the app, with a 7-day trial, and the site does not list their prices. Free plan: free plan.
- Best for: UK residents with several accounts
- Strengths: Open Banking account connection; Spending categories; Subscription tracking.
Where it falls short
The site lists four plan names without prices on the pages we read, so the paid cost is unclear until you reach the app.
Wrong for
Anyone outside the UK, or a person who wants to budget with no bank connection.
Visit Emma →
#7 PocketGuard
Safe-to-spend budgeting with debt payoff · United States · pocketguard.com
Safe to spend Debt payoff Lifetime plan
PocketGuard leads with one number: what is safe to spend after bills and goals. Its pricing page lists $12.99 monthly, $74.99 annually and a $149.99 lifetime option, with a 7-day trial and import and export of transactions. The home page says bank links are powered by Plaid, Finicity and Salt Edge, so coverage reaches beyond the US, and it supports zero-based, envelope and category approaches.
- Pricing: Free + paid tiers. Premium costs $12.99 per month or $74.99 per year, with a $149.99 lifetime option and a 7-day free trial. Free plan: free trial.
- Best for: Americans who want a simple daily number
- Strengths: Safe-to-spend figure; Zero-based, envelope and category methods; Bills and subscription tracking.
Where it falls short
There is no permanent free tier, only a 7-day trial, so the decision comes early. The company's own comparison blog posts argue for itself against YNAB and Monarch, which should be read as marketing.
Wrong for
A person outside the United States who needs local bank coverage proven first, or someone who wants a free plan after the trial.
Visit PocketGuard →
#8 EveryDollar
Zero-based budgeting from Ramsey Solutions · United States · ramseysolutions.com
Zero-based Ramsey method Coaching
EveryDollar is a zero-based planner from Ramsey Solutions, and it is honest about where the free line sits. The free version gives monthly budgets, unlimited categories, manual entry, sinking funds, split transactions and bill dates; the paid version adds automatic bank import through Mastercard Connect and Plaid, custom reports, CSV export, a financial roadmap and live coaching. Premium is $17.99 monthly or $79.99 yearly after 14 days.
- Pricing: Free + paid tiers. Free for manual budgeting; Premium costs $17.99 per month or $79.99 per year after a 14-day free trial. Free plan: free plan.
- Best for: Followers of the Ramsey plan
- Strengths: Monthly zero-based budget; Sinking funds; Split transactions.
Where it falls short
The monthly price is the highest among the cheaper apps, and the bank import and CSV export are locked behind it. The copyright line names Lampo Licensing, LLC while the operating company is The Lampo Group, which makes the contracting party harder to read.
Wrong for
Someone who does not follow the Ramsey plan, or an owner who needs investment and net worth views across many accounts.
Visit EveryDollar →
#9 Copilot Money
Apple-first budgeting app with an AI assistant · United States · copilot.money
Apple-first AI assistant Design
Copilot Money is the design leader in this list. Its pricing page shows $9 a month or $109 billed yearly, and its home page describes an assistant that explains spending, proposes budget changes and discusses scenarios such as retirement contributions. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Mac and web, and says it connects to more than 16,000 institutions.
- Pricing: Flat monthly. $9 per month, or $109 billed yearly, as stated on its pricing page; no free trial is mentioned there. Free plan: none.
- Best for: iPhone and Mac users who value design
- Strengths: iPhone, iPad, Mac and web apps; Connections to 16,000+ institutions; AI money assistant.
Where it falls short
No Android app appears on the pages we read, no free tier or trial is stated, and the pricing page says nothing about supported countries or export formats.
Wrong for
Android users, anyone outside the United States, or a person who wants to try before paying.
Visit Copilot Money →
#10 Monarch
Ad-free household finance app with forecasting · United States · monarch.com
Household No ads Net worth
Monarch is the app most likely to replace the spreadsheet a couple keeps. Its pricing page lists $99.99 a year or $14.99 a month, a free first week, a money-back guarantee, and a statement that it shows no ads and does not sell financial data, which it presents as the reason to pay.
- Pricing: Flat monthly. $99.99 per year or $14.99 per month, with a first week free and a money-back guarantee; a Plus tier adds forecasting but its price is not stated. Free plan: free trial.
- Best for: Couples tracking net worth together
- Strengths: Account aggregation; Budgeting by category or group; Household sharing.
Where it falls short
The Plus tier price is not shown on the page we read, and the support and bank-connection pages were not reachable by our fetch, so we could not verify the aggregators or the country list. The vendor's own comparison pages argue against YNAB and Simplifi.
Wrong for
A person who wants strict envelopes or a self-hosted tool.
Visit Monarch →
#11 YNAB
Zero-based budgeting taught as a method · United States · ynab.com
Zero-based Method Sharing
YNAB asks you to give every dollar a job, and its own pages treat that as a method to learn, not a feature. The pricing page lists $109 a year or $14.99 a month with a 34-day trial that needs no card and a reminder a week before it ends, plus subscription sharing with a small group.
- Pricing: Flat monthly. $109 per year or $14.99 per month plus tax, after a 34-day free trial with no card required. Free plan: free trial.
- Best for: People who want a strict plan
- Strengths: Zero-based YNAB Method; Bank import through Plaid or MX; Subscription sharing with up to 5 people.
Where it falls short
The method has a learning curve, and the yearly price is the highest in this list alongside Copilot Money. We did not find an export statement on the pages we read.
Wrong for
Someone who only wants to watch where the money goes without assigning it first. Monarch, PocketGuard or Spendee categorize without the allocation rule.
Visit YNAB →
Questions and answers
What is the best budgeting app in 2026?
Actual Budget ranks first of 11, best for people who want to own their data. Tiller is second (spreadsheet users who want full control) and Wallet by BudgetBakers third (europeans wanting a free tier first). Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands, wherever the category has them.
Is there a free budgeting app that connects to my bank?
Spendee Basic lists bank sync on its free plan and says it reaches more than 2,500 providers, though it limits you to one cash wallet and one budget. Emma is free to use but requires a connected account.
How much does YNAB cost compared with Monarch?
YNAB lists $109 a year or $14.99 a month, with a 34-day trial that needs no card.
Which budgeting app works with European banks?
Emma is built for UK accounts through Open Banking. Spendee and Wallet are both run from Prague; Spendee says it connects to more than 2,500 providers worldwide and Wallet says its bank sync is a Premium feature.
Can I run a budgeting app on my own server?
Only Actual Budget. Its documentation lists Docker, a desktop app, PikaPods and Fly.io as ways to install, plus a self-hosted sync server and optional end-to-end encryption, so the sync server cannot read your data.
What happens to my data if I cancel?
It depends on the vendor. Tiller states that it deletes your personal financial and transaction data when you cancel, and the sheet already lives in your own Google account.
Is a budgeting app worth paying for if I only track a few accounts?
Often not. With one current account and one card, a free plan such as Goodbudget's 20 envelopes, Wallet's free tier or EveryDollar's manual budget covers the job.
Which app is best for a couple sharing money?
Monarch advertises household sharing, YNAB lets one subscription be shared with others in a group of up to six people, and Spendee's paid plans allow shared wallets. Wallet Premium includes group sharing with accounts you can keep private.
Do budgeting apps handle freelance or sole-trader income?
Partly. Tiller says it supports personal finances and a solo business in the same sheet, and Monarch's Plus tier mentions tracking multiple income sources like a small business.
Is it safe to give a budgeting app access to my bank?
The apps read transactions through a regulated aggregator and do not receive your bank password in most cases. Check the aggregator named in the terms (Plaid, MX, Yodlee, GoCardless) and whether the app sells data.
Is Mint still available?
No. Mint shut down in 2024, which is why this ranking omits it. If you kept an old export from Mint, most apps here import CSV or OFX files, so you can bring the history with you.