Skip to content
AI software · 14 vendors ranked

Best AI Writing Tools in 2026

A business that buys an AI writing tool is rarely short of words. It is short of words that sound like the company, survive legal review and arrive without a copywriter retyping them. The products sold for that job differ less in prose quality than in three things a demo skips: what the meter counts, which model does the writing, and what the vendor may do with the drafts, briefs and customer lists pasted into it. This ranking covers dedicated AI writers, marketing content platforms, correcting and rewriting assistants, and SEO article tools; general chat assistants are ranked separately. We read each vendor's pricing page, terms and privacy policy on the day of publication and judged fourteen products on the unit they bill, the brand and team controls they include, the model providers they name, their stated training policy, and how text gets out and into the systems where it is published.

What it is: AI writing tools are applications that use large language models to draft, rewrite, correct or optimize text for a business purpose. The category covers marketing content platforms that generate copy in a stored brand voice, writing assistants that correct grammar and rephrase sentences inside other applications, and SEO writers that produce and score articles for search. They are distinct from general chat assistants in that they add brand voice, style rules, templates, team roles and publishing integrations around a model the vendor builds or licenses.

Visibility in this ranking can be paid for. Payment moves a vendor's position within the shortlist; it never adds a vendor, and it never changes a word of the review. The largest vendors in AI writing tools cannot hold places 1 to 3. How it works: placement disclosure · editorial process.

The top three

  1. #1

    Anyword

    Performance marketers testing ad and email copy

    Marketing copy generator that scores each variation before it ships, with a published three-seat tier and a plain statement that customer data never trains third-party models.

  2. #2

    neuroflash

    European marketing teams with GDPR questions

    Hamburg content platform with published euro prices, a seven-day trial, an ISO 27001 certificate and a written promise not to train its models on customer input.

  3. #3

    LanguageTool

    Multilingual teams that edit more than they generate

    Grammar, style and AI rephrasing checker whose core is open source and self-hostable, with a free tier, a team style guide and a no-training statement covering every plan.

How we ranked these

Setup: teaching the tool how the company writes

Installing one of these takes minutes; making it sound like the company takes longer. The real setup is loading a brand voice, a style guide and the facts the tool may cite. Products differ in how much of that the entry tier accepts: Jasper Pro holds two brand voices and five knowledge assets, Anyword's published tiers hold one voice, Grammarly Pro one brand tone and one style guide, and Writer's Starter one team Personality profile. Correcting assistants need a different kind of setup, since they have to appear where people type: LanguageTool, DeepL Write, Wordtune and Grammarly rely on browser add-ons or office-suite integrations, and rollout means getting those onto every laptop. We ranked higher the tools where a small team can store its voice and rules without buying the top tier first.

The real price: seats, articles, credits or characters

No two vendors here count the same thing. Jasper and neuroflash Pro charge per seat. Anyword, Frase and Surfer sell a flat tier with a fixed number of seats inside it. Writesonic and Frase cap articles per month, Surfer caps documents, neuroflash caps daily credits, Rytr's free tier caps characters, Wordtune caps rewrites per day, Grammarly caps prompts per member and Copy.ai's upper tiers cap workflow credits. That makes list prices nearly useless for comparison until a buyer converts them into its own output: forty articles a month, or two hundred ad variants, or three hundred people correcting email. Watch the billing basis as well. Several headline figures on these pricing pages are the annual-billing price, and the month-to-month figure beside them is noticeably higher.

Getting your data out: drafts leave easily, policies on inputs vary

Text is the most portable output in software, so export is seldom the trap; a draft can be copied anywhere, and Frase, Writesonic and Surfer push it directly into WordPress, Google Docs or a CMS. The harder question runs the other way: what the vendor does with what goes in. Writer, Writesonic, Frase, neuroflash, DeepL for Pro subscribers, LanguageTool and ProWritingAid state that customer text does not train models. Grammarly makes it a setting each user can switch off. Jasper's terms say inputs and outputs are used to develop its own models, with an objection right written for EU and UK users. Wordtune's terms license user content for improving its algorithms. Rytr and Surfer say nothing on the pages we read. A brand voice profile and a knowledge base, meanwhile, rarely export in any reusable form.

Independence from the vendor: whose model is actually writing

Most of these products are an interface and a set of prompts on top of someone else's language model, which gives the buyer two suppliers and a contract with only one. Writesonic lists its providers, among them OpenAI, Anthropic and Microsoft Azure OpenAI Service, and Copy.ai says its Chat plan reaches OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini models. Writer builds its own Palmyra models and lets admins enable others, and LanguageTool publishes its core as open source that a customer can host. Jasper and Anyword describe themselves as LLM agnostic without saying who supplies the models, and neuroflash, Frase, Surfer, Rytr and Grammarly do not name providers in the documents we fetched. A vendor that names its providers can be audited; one that does not has to be asked in writing before signature.

Who it's for: generators, editors and search-article machines

The fourteen tools fall into three jobs that overlap less than the shared label suggests. Generators, Anyword, neuroflash, Jasper, Copy.ai, Writer and Rytr, produce first drafts of ads, emails and posts from a brief and a stored voice, and suit marketing teams. Editors, LanguageTool, Grammarly, DeepL Write, Wordtune and ProWritingAid, improve sentences a person has already written and suit whole-company rollout, since everyone writes email. Search-article tools, Writesonic, Frase and Surfer, produce and score long pages against what ranks and what AI assistants cite, and suit SEO teams with a publishing calendar. Buying a generator for an editing problem, or an SEO writer for ad copy, is the most common way this purchase goes wrong, so each entry below says which job it does.

Compared at a glance

#ToolBest forPricing modelFree optionHeadquarters
1Anyword Performance marketers testing ad and email copyFlat monthlyFree trialUnited States
2neuroflash European marketing teams with GDPR questionsPer user / monthFree trialGermany
3LanguageTool Multilingual teams that edit more than they generateFree + paid tiersFree planGermany
4Writesonic Content teams chasing search and AI citationsFlat monthlyFree trialUnited States
5Jasper Marketing departments standardizing on one writerPer seat / monthFree trialUnited States
6Grammarly Whole-company correction and tone checkingFree + paid tiersFree planUnited States
7Writer Regulated companies needing governed brand writingQuote onlyFree trialUnited States
8DeepL Write Companies already paying for DeepL translationPer user / monthFree trialGermany
9Frase Small SEO teams publishing weekly articlesFlat monthlyFree trialUnited States
10Surfer SEO teams optimizing pages against competitorsFlat monthlyNonePoland
11Copy.ai Sales and marketing ops automating repeat tasksFlat monthlyNoneUnited States
12ProWritingAid Long-form writers and small editorial teamsFree + paid tiersFree planUnited Kingdom
13Wordtune Individuals polishing emails and documentsFree + paid tiersFree planIsrael
14Rytr Freelancers needing short copy on a budgetFree + paid tiersFree planUnited States

The 14 tools, reviewed

#1 Anyword

Marketing copy with a predicted performance score · United States · anyword.com

Performance prediction 3 seats at $99 7-day trial

Anyword leads because it answers the question a marketing team asks after the draft exists: which version should run. The vendor says its prediction picks the better of two variations with 82% accuracy, and scoring is the feature the whole product is organized around. The Data-Driven tier puts three seats, one brand voice and unlimited copy generation at a published $99 a month, the trial runs seven days with a 2,500-word cap, and the company states that customer data is never used to train third-party models and that it meets SOC 2 and ISO 27001.

Where it falls short

One brand voice is all the two published tiers include; five voices, custom-built models and automated A/B testing start at Business, which is priced on request, and full API access waits for Enterprise. The vendor calls its engine LLM-agnostic without listing the providers behind it, and its terms and privacy policy, as fetched, say nothing either way about training its own models on customer copy.

Wrong for

An editorial team producing long reports or documentation, where a conversion score means nothing. A checker such as LanguageTool or a governed platform such as Writer suits that work better than a copy-testing tool.

Pricing: Starter is $49 a month, or $39 a month billed yearly, for one seat; Data-Driven is $99 a month, or $79 billed yearly, for three seats; Business and Enterprise are custom. (free trial)

Visit Anyword →

#2 neuroflash

German brand-voice content suite with audience twins · Germany · neuroflash.com

Servers in Germany Daily credit meter ISO 27001:2022

neuroflash is the entry a data protection officer will sign fastest. The company is a German GmbH, advertises servers in Germany, holds ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and writes on its pricing page that there is no transfer to third parties and no training of its models with customer data. Around that sits a working content product: an editor, a chat, brand voices in a Brand Hub, more than 90 templates and Digital Twins that answer as a target audience would. Both paid tiers are published in euros and each comes with a seven-day trial.

Where it falls short

The meter is daily credits, 25,000 on Essential and 250,000 per user on Pro, which caps a heavy day regardless of how quiet the rest of the month was. Advanced AI models, workflows and API access start at Pro. The privacy statement says AI queries are processed in the EU and in the USA on servers of external providers, and those providers are not named on the pages we read.

Wrong for

A team that needs every prompt to stay on EU soil by contract, since the vendor's own privacy text mentions processing in the USA. Ask for the subprocessor list first, or look at Writer's self-hosting option.

Pricing: Essential is €42 a month and Pro is €84 a month per user, both billed annually plus VAT; Enterprise is custom. Generation is metered in daily credits. (free trial)

Visit neuroflash →

#3 LanguageTool

Open-core multilingual grammar and rephrasing checker · Germany · languagetool.org

Open source core 30+ languages Team style guide

LanguageTool is the only product here whose core a buyer can read and run. The vendor publishes that core as open source and states that anyone can set up their own LanguageTool server locally or in the cloud, which settles the question of where drafts travel. The hosted service checks more than 30 languages, and the Teams plan adds a style guide of custom rules, a shared dictionary and control over who may edit either. The privacy policy says inputs from Individual and Team plan users are not used to train language algorithms or models.

Where it falls short

It corrects and rephrases; it does not draft a campaign from a brief, so a team after first drafts needs a second product. The free tier stops at 2,000 characters per text field and three AI rephrasings a day. The privacy policy is issued under the name Learneo and lists offices in five countries, and the pricing page failed to show its figures when we fetched it.

Wrong for

A marketing team that wants blog posts and ad variants generated on demand. LanguageTool polishes text a person already wrote; Anyword or neuroflash produce the first version.

Pricing: Basic is free; Premium and Teams are paid, with monthly, quarterly, annual and two-year billing and Teams priced by number of users. The price figures did not load when we fetched the page. (free plan)

Visit LanguageTool →

#4 Writesonic

SEO and AI-search article platform · United States · writesonic.com

Names its model providers Articles-per-month meter No-card trial

Writesonic gives the most complete answer on this list to the two AI questions a buyer should ask. Its privacy page names OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft Azure OpenAI Service and others as providers and records each one's training and retention position, and its terms say the company does not use customer data to train or fine-tune any general-purpose or foundation model, while the customer owns the outputs. The product now pairs article generation with tracking of how a brand appears in ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, and the trial needs no credit card.

Where it falls short

The meter is articles per month, not words or seats: 15 on Starter, 25 on Basic, 50 on Growth, with one, two and three users respectively. The listed prices are annual-billing prices. The home page now sells AI search visibility first and writing second, so a buyer who only wants a drafting tool pays for prompt tracking it may never open.

Wrong for

A small team that wants short-form copy, emails or social posts in a brand voice. The plans are built around search articles and visibility tracking; Anyword or Jasper fit copywriting better.

Pricing: Starter is $79 a month billed annually for 1 user and 15 articles a month; Basic is $199 and Growth is $399 a month, both billed annually; Enterprise is custom. (free trial)

Visit Writesonic →

#5 Jasper

Marketing content platform with brand voice and agents · United States · jasper.ai

Per-seat Pro plan Brand Voices and Knowledge 7-day trial

Jasper is organized around a marketing department's work: a Canvas for drafting, agents for research, optimization and translation, and a Jasper IQ layer holding brand voices, knowledge and audiences. Pro is published per seat with a seven-day trial, and the vendor lists SOC 2 among its compliance claims. It sits mid-table because the governance a team buys it for, unlimited voices, admin groups, SSO and the API, is on a quote-only tier with a twelve-month minimum.

Where it falls short

The terms of service say Jasper uses customer inputs and outputs to develop and enhance its own artificial intelligence models, and the right to object is written only for users in the European Union or United Kingdom. The trust page adds that company data is never used to train third-party LLMs and calls the product LLM agnostic, yet names no provider. Pro stops at two brand voices and five knowledge assets.

Wrong for

A company whose legal team will not accept a vendor improving its models on submitted drafts. Writer and Writesonic both put a no-training commitment in their terms, and neuroflash says the same on its pricing page.

Pricing: Pro is $69 per seat a month, or $59 a month on annual billing, and includes one seat; Business is custom priced with a 12-month minimum commitment. (free trial)

Visit Jasper →

#6 Grammarly

Writing assistant with metered AI prompts · United States · grammarly.com

Free plan Prompt quota per member Training opt-out in settings

Grammarly is built to be handed to everyone in a company, not only to the people who write for a living. The free plan corrects spelling and grammar, shows tone and includes 100 generative prompts a month; Pro raises that to 2,000 per member, rewrites whole sentences and adds one brand tone and one style guide. The privacy policy says the company restricts its AI service providers from training on user content and lets each user decide whether the company may train its own models. As the category incumbent it cannot take a top-three place here.

Where it falls short

Training on user content is controlled by a setting the trust page tells users to turn off, called Product Improvement and Training, so the protective choice takes an action. Pro carries a single brand tone and a single style guide; unlimited ones and SAML single sign-on are Enterprise, which is quote only. The legal entity is now Superhuman Platform Inc., and the AI providers behind the generative features are not named in its policy.

Wrong for

A content team that needs long-form drafts from a brief, or a buyer who wants no-training as the contractual default instead of a per-user toggle. LanguageTool states that default for every plan.

Pricing: Free costs nothing and includes 100 AI prompts a month; Pro is listed at €12 on the plans page we fetched and gives 2,000 prompts per member a month; Enterprise is by quote. (free plan)

Visit Grammarly →

#7 Writer

Enterprise AI platform on its own Palmyra models · United States · writer.com

Own Palmyra models Self-hosting option Zero retention by default

Writer removes the usual dependency by owning the model. Its Palmyra family, currently Palmyra X6, is built in house, admins can enable models from other providers, and the vendor lists self-hosting, full data residency and bring-your-own models through AWS Bedrock, Microsoft Azure and NVIDIA NIM. The terms assign output to the customer and say customer materials will not be used to train its models, with zero retention by default. For a bank or insurer writing under a style policy, that package is hard to match here.

Where it falls short

The plans page shows no price for either tier, so budgeting starts with a sales call. Starter is capped at five users, five Playbooks, one team Personality profile and a limited Knowledge Graph. The terms still allow customer materials to be used to improve the services and develop other products, short of model training, and the product has grown into a general agent platform with more surface than a copy team needs.

Wrong for

A five-person marketing team that wants to pay by card and start writing this afternoon. Anyword, neuroflash and Jasper all publish a self-serve price; Writer is built for a procurement process.

Pricing: No prices are listed on the plans page: Starter covers up to 5 users with a 14-day free trial and no credit card, and Enterprise is contact sales. (free trial)

Visit Writer →

#8 DeepL Write

Rewriting assistant bundled with DeepL Pro · Germany · deepl.com

Add-on to DeepL Pro Six languages Style rules

DeepL Write suits a firm that already routes documents through DeepL and wants the same vendor to tidy the prose. It corrects and rewrites in English, German, French, Spanish, Italian and Portuguese, offers tones and purpose-built styles, and applies company style rules to every suggestion so the guide lives in one place. For Pro subscribers the vendor says content is stored only as technically needed, deleted afterward and never used to train its models, and the product page lists ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II.

Where it falls short

It cannot be bought alone: Write Pro rides on a DeepL Pro subscription, and a trial of the add-on is available only while that subscription is itself in trial. Six languages is a short list beside LanguageTool's thirty-plus. It refines text a person supplies and is not a campaign or article generator, and the product page does not say which models sit underneath.

Wrong for

A team with no translation need, which would be buying a translator to get an editor. LanguageTool or Grammarly do the correction job as standalone products with a free tier.

Pricing: Write Pro is an add-on at €6.99 per user a month billed annually, VAT included, on the Individual and Team plans, and is included in Business and Enterprise. (free trial)

Visit DeepL Write →

#9 Frase

SEO article research, drafting and publishing · United States · frase.io

Articles-per-month meter Publishes to WordPress 7-day trial

Frase prices the thing an SEO team counts, articles, and says so on the page: 10 a month on Starter, 40 on Professional, 100 on Scale, each tier with a seven-day trial and a month-to-month option. Drafts are scored for search and AI-readiness and can be pushed straight to WordPress, Webflow, Sanity or Wix, which removes a copy-and-paste step. The terms say customer data is not used to develop or train generalized AI or machine learning models, with an email opt-out from aggregated analytics use.

Where it falls short

The operating company is Copysmith AI, Inc. and the about page calls it remote-first without naming a headquarters, so the address comes from the privacy policy alone. That policy says data goes to AI model providers when content is generated and does not name them. The terms also grant the vendor a broad, sublicensable license over customer data, wider than Writer's or Writesonic's wording.

Wrong for

A brand team writing ads, emails and product pages, where article quotas and audit pages are the wrong units. Anyword or Jasper sell by seat and are built around short-form copy.

Pricing: Starter is $39 a month billed yearly or $49 month to month for 1 seat and 10 articles; Professional is $103 or $129 with 3 seats; Scale is $239 or $299; extra seats are $29 a month. (free trial)

Visit Frase →

#10 Surfer

Content scoring and article generation for search · Poland · surferseo.com

Document allowance Google Docs integration Based in Poland

Surfer earns its place with SEO teams that already know what they want to rank for and need a draft measured against what ranks today. Every plan includes content scoring, a humanizer and plagiarism checking, and the allowance is counted in documents created or optimized: 120 on Discovery, 360 on Standard and Pro. It offers a Google Docs integration, a Chrome extension and an API. The company is a Polish limited company with its registered office in Wrocław, so EU buyers contract with an EU entity.

Where it falls short

Neither the regulations nor the general privacy policy we read says which AI providers generate the text or whether customer content is used for training, which leaves a buyer to ask in writing. The regulations state that a cancelled prepaid annual subscription is not refundable. Buttons read Start for Free, but no free plan or trial is described on the pricing page, and Discovery includes no AI prompts.

Wrong for

A buyer who needs the model provider and training policy in the contract before a pilot. Writesonic covers the same search-article job and publishes both; Frase rules out training in its terms.

Pricing: Listed in euros billed yearly: Discovery €49, Standard €99, Pro €182 and Peace of Mind €299 a month, with Enterprise custom; plans carry 1, 3, 5 and 10 team seats. (none)

Visit Surfer →

#11 Copy.ai

Go-to-market workflow platform with a chat plan · United States · copy.ai

5 seats for $29 Workflow credits Choice of three model families

Copy.ai has two very different products under one name. The Chat plan is the simple one: five seats, unlimited words in chat and access to OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini models for a published $29 a month, which is cheap for a small team that mainly wants model choice. The wider platform adds Brand Voice and an Infobase of company facts, and the vendor calls itself LLM model agnostic. Its security page says models are trained without utilizing a customer's individual data and that prompts are never shared with other customers.

Where it falls short

Above Chat the next step is Growth at $1,000 a month on annual billing for 75 seats and 20K workflow credits, with no tier listed in between. The terms of service, as fetched, still say OpenAI LLC exclusively owns generated content and license it back to the user, which an agency reselling copy should read closely. The support address sits on a fullcast.com domain, and no free plan or trial is described on the pricing page.

Wrong for

A ten-person content team that has outgrown chat but does not want a sales-operations platform. The gap between $29 and $1,000 a month is where Anyword, Jasper and neuroflash are priced.

Pricing: Chat is $29 a month, or $24 a month billed annually, for 5 seats; Growth is $1,000, Expansion $2,000 and Scale $3,000 a month billed annually; Enterprise is custom. (none)

Visit Copy.ai →

#12 ProWritingAid

Editing toolkit with lifetime license option · United Kingdom · prowritingaid.com

Lifetime license Deletes checked text Teams with SSO

ProWritingAid is the one entry a buyer can pay for once: Premium has a lifetime price alongside monthly and yearly ones. It is an editor's tool that reports on a text and rephrases it, with integrations for Microsoft Word, Google Docs and Scrivener. The privacy policy says texts submitted for grammar checking are deleted once checking completes and are not used to improve the service, and the responsible AI page says the company will never use a customer's writing to train its algorithms. Teams adds 1,000 style guide rules, a term base and SSO.

Where it falls short

The product is built for book authors first: the home page talks about plotting, manuscripts and beta readers, and a marketing team will find no campaign or brand-voice generator. Generative features are rationed per day, five Sparks on Premium and fifty on Premium Pro. The vendor says some features use large language models from leading providers and does not name them. Teams starts at two users.

Wrong for

A marketing department that needs ad copy, landing pages or social posts produced from a brief. This is a manuscript editor with team controls, and a generator such as Anyword or neuroflash does that job.

Pricing: Free tier; Premium is €30 a month, €120 a year or €399 once for a lifetime license; Premium Pro is €36 a month or €144 a year; Teams is €12 per user a month. (free plan)

Visit ProWritingAid →

#13 Wordtune

Sentence rewriter and summarizer from AI21 Labs · Israel · wordtune.com

Free tier Rewrites-per-day meter Made by AI21 Labs

Wordtune does one narrow job cheaply: take a sentence and offer better versions of it. The free Basic tier gives ten rewrites and AI suggestions a day plus unlimited spelling and grammar checks, and the Unlimited plan removes the rewrite cap for under ten dollars a month. It runs as a Chrome or Edge extension and an iOS app, so it follows the writer between tools. The publisher is AI21 Labs Ltd., an Israeli company that describes itself as a developer of foundation models.

Where it falls short

The terms give the publisher a perpetual, irrevocable license to copy, store and use user content, including to improve the algorithms underlying the service, and we found no opt-out in the terms or privacy policy. The plans page shows individual tiers only, with no team plan, shared style guide or admin controls, and the stated refund policy is no refunds. The privacy policy says data is processed on servers in the United States.

Wrong for

Any team handling client drafts or unreleased material, given the content license in the terms. LanguageTool and DeepL Write do sentence-level rewriting with a stated no-training position.

Pricing: Basic is free; Advanced is $6.99 a month and Unlimited is $9.99 a month on monthly billing, with lower prices on annual billing. (free plan)

Visit Wordtune →

#14 Rytr

Budget template-based copy generator · United States · rytr.me

Free forever tier Character meter Tone match

Rytr is the low-cost end of the category and honest about it: a free tier of 10K characters a month with no card, then an Unlimited plan in single digits. It works from more than 40 use-case templates, mirrors a user's tone from a writing sample, and includes a monthly allowance of plagiarism checks on paid plans, 50 on Unlimited and 100 on Premium. For a freelancer producing product blurbs and social captions, that is enough tool. The terms say users retain their rights to content they create.

Where it falls short

Neither the terms nor the privacy policy we read names the AI models behind the product or says whether submitted text is used for training, and the terms grant the company a license to use, modify and distribute user content. The free tier has no Tone Match, plagiarism checks or Chrome extension. We found no team seats, approval steps or admin controls described on the pricing page.

Wrong for

A company that must document its AI subprocessors, because the vendor's public pages give it nothing to file. Writesonic names its providers, and Writer runs on models it builds.

Pricing: Free forever with 10K characters a month; the pricing page lists Unlimited at $7.50 a month and Premium at $24.16 a month, with two months free on annual plans. (free plan)

Visit Rytr →

What the data says about this market

Eight of the fourteen products ranked here are run by companies with a United States address, three are German (neuroflash, LanguageTool and DeepL), and Poland, the United Kingdom and Israel account for one each. Twelve showed a price on their pricing page when we fetched it; Writer lists plans without figures, and LanguageTool's page failed to load its numbers. Five have a free plan, seven offer a free trial, and two, Surfer and Copy.ai, describe neither on their pricing pages despite buttons that say otherwise. Entry prices are low for this site: most self-serve tiers start under one hundred dollars or euros a month, which makes this a purchase a department head can approve alone, and explains why many companies end up with three of these tools bought by three different teams.

The more telling count is disclosure. Only three vendors name the models that do the writing: Writesonic and Copy.ai list outside providers, and Writer names its own Palmyra family. Two more, Jasper and Anyword, call themselves LLM agnostic and stop there. On training, nine state in some form that customer text is not used to train models, Grammarly leaves it to a user setting, Jasper and Wordtune reserve the right in their terms, and Rytr and Surfer are silent in the documents we read. Several products have also moved away from plain drafting: Writesonic, Frase and Surfer now lead with tracking how brands appear in AI assistants, and Copy.ai with sales workflows. The writing feature is becoming a component of something larger.

Writing assistance is sold as a subscription across borders, which places it inside the trade the World Bank counts as ICT services. That category grew from 9.1% of world service exports in 2013 to 14.48% in 2023, and in the European Union from 10.58% to 17.55%. The five non-US vendors on this list are a small illustration: German and Polish companies selling a language product worldwide while, in most cases, renting model capacity from providers they do not name. For a buyer the practical consequence is that the vendor's country and the country where the text is processed can differ. neuroflash, for example, advertises servers in Germany while its privacy statement also mentions AI queries processed in the USA.

The 14 ranked vendors, counted

  • Headquarters by region: North America 8, Europe 5, Middle East & Africa 1
  • By country: United States 8, Germany 3, Israel 1, Poland 1, United Kingdom 1
  • Pricing model: Flat monthly 5, Free + paid tiers 5, Per user / month 2, Per seat / month 1, Quote only 1
  • Free option: Free trial 7, Free plan 5, None 2

Counted from the 14 vendors on this page. More in our market data.

For the wider market behind AI writing tools, read our report The Global Shift to ICT Services, or browse all industry reports.

How to choose

  1. Name the job before the tool

    Write down what the text is and who produces it today. If the answer is ad variants, emails and social posts from a brief, shortlist generators with a stored brand voice: Anyword, neuroflash or Jasper. If it is three hundred employees sending clumsy email in a second language, the purchase is an editor that lives in the browser and the office suite: LanguageTool, Grammarly or DeepL Write. If it is a calendar of search articles, look at Writesonic, Frase or Surfer, which count articles or documents and publish to a CMS. Most disappointing purchases in this category trace back to a generator bought for an editing problem or the reverse, and a one-line statement of the job rules out two thirds of the list before any trial begins.

  2. Convert every meter into your own monthly output

    Take last month's real output, the number of articles, the number of people writing, the rough volume of short copy, and price it on each shortlisted plan. An article cap of 15 on Writesonic Starter or 10 on Frase Starter is generous for one blog and useless for an agency. A daily credit limit such as neuroflash's behaves differently from a monthly one when work arrives in bursts. Seat-based plans like Jasper Pro get expensive when occasional reviewers need logins, while flat tiers with three seats inside, Anyword's Data-Driven or Frase Professional, do not. Then check which figure is the annual-billing price, and whether brand voices or style guides beyond the first require the quote-only tier.

  3. Read the training clause and ask who runs the model

    Before a pilot, open the terms and search for the words train, improve and license. The clauses on this list range from Writer's assignment of output with no training and zero retention by default, through Grammarly's per-user toggle, to Wordtune's irrevocable license to use content for improving its algorithms. Then ask which model providers process the text and where; Writesonic, Copy.ai and Writer answer on their own sites, and the rest should answer by email. If the content includes client material, unreleased products or personal data, make the written answer a condition of purchase. Testing with last quarter's published copy costs nothing and keeps sensitive drafts out until the paperwork is settled.

Questions and answers

What is the best AI writing tool in 2026?

Anyword leads this ranking for a small or mid-sized marketing team: it scores each copy variation before it runs, publishes a three-seat tier at $99 a month, offers a seven-day trial and states that customer data never trains third-party models. neuroflash is the better pick when the buyer wants a German vendor with an ISO 27001 certificate and euro pricing. LanguageTool is the one to choose when the need is correcting and rephrasing in many languages, or when the core has to be open source and self-hostable.

Why not just use a general chat assistant for writing?

For one person writing occasionally, a chat assistant is often enough. A dedicated tool earns its fee when several people must produce text that sounds the same: it stores a brand voice and style rules, applies them without being reminded, limits who can change them, and sits inside the browser, the office suite or the CMS where the text ends up. If none of that matters to the team, the extra subscription is hard to justify. General chat assistants and model platforms are ranked in our generative AI platform guide.

Do AI writing tools train their models on the text we put in?

It depends on the vendor, and the documents differ sharply. Writer, Writesonic, Frase, neuroflash, LanguageTool, ProWritingAid and DeepL (for Pro subscribers) state that customer text is not used for training. Grammarly lets each user turn training off in account settings. Jasper's terms say inputs and outputs are used to develop its own models, with a right to object for EU and UK users. Wordtune's terms license content for improving its algorithms. Rytr and Surfer do not address it in the pages we read.

Which of these tools say which AI models they use?

Three. Writesonic's privacy page lists OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft Azure OpenAI Service and several others. Copy.ai says its Chat plan gives access to OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini models. Writer builds its own Palmyra models and allows admins to enable models from other providers. Jasper and Anyword describe themselves as LLM agnostic without naming suppliers, ProWritingAid refers to leading providers, and the remaining vendors did not name a model provider in the pages we fetched.

How are AI writing tools priced?

By almost every unit imaginable. Jasper charges per seat; Anyword, Frase and Surfer sell flat tiers with a set number of seats; Writesonic and Frase limit articles per month; neuroflash limits daily credits; Grammarly limits prompts per member; Wordtune limits rewrites per day; Rytr's free tier limits characters; Copy.ai's larger plans are metered in workflow credits. Writer lists no prices at all. Compare plans by pricing your own monthly output on each, and check whether the figure shown assumes annual billing.

Who owns the text an AI writing tool produces?

Read the terms, because the answers vary. Writer assigns all right, title and interest in output to the customer, and Writesonic says the customer owns outputs. Jasper claims no ownership of customer property. Rytr and Grammarly say users retain rights to their content while granting the vendor a license. Copy.ai's terms, as fetched, state that OpenAI LLC owns generated content and license it to the user for lawful business purposes. None of these clauses settles whether machine-written text is protected by copyright in a given country.

Is there a free AI writing tool that is usable for work?

Five of the fourteen have a free plan. LanguageTool's checks up to 2,000 characters per text field with three AI rephrasings a day. Grammarly's includes correction, tone detection and 100 AI prompts a month. Wordtune's gives ten rewrites a day. Rytr's allows 10K characters a month. ProWritingAid's analyzes 500 words at a time. All are fine for an individual; none includes the shared style guide or brand voice a team needs, which sit on paid plans everywhere.

Can any of these tools be self-hosted?

Two vendors say so. LanguageTool publishes its core as open source and states that anyone can set up their own server locally or in the cloud, though the hosted Premium features are a separate paid service. Writer lists self-hosting and full data residency among its deployment options, along with bringing your own models through AWS Bedrock, Microsoft Azure or NVIDIA NIM. ProWritingAid mentions on-premise options on its Enterprise tier for 100 or more users. The other products are described only as hosted services.

What is the difference between a brand voice and a style guide in these tools?

A brand voice steers generation: the tool learns tone and vocabulary from samples and writes new text that way, as in Jasper's Brand Voices, Anyword's brand voice or neuroflash's Brand Hub. A style guide checks text after it is written: rules such as preferred terms or banned phrases are flagged or applied, as in LanguageTool's team style guide, DeepL Write's style rules or Grammarly's style guide. Generators tend to offer the first, editors the second, and the number included on entry tiers is usually one or two.

Which AI writing tools suit a European company concerned about data location?

Five vendors are outside the United States: neuroflash, LanguageTool and DeepL in Germany, Surfer in Poland and ProWritingAid in the United Kingdom. neuroflash advertises servers in Germany, though its privacy statement also refers to AI queries processed in the USA. DeepL says Pro content is deleted after processing. LanguageTool's open source core can run on the buyer's own server. Writer, a US company, offers self-hosting and data residency. Vendor address and processing location are separate questions, so ask for the subprocessor list.

How was this ranking put together?

Every product fact on this page was read on the vendor's own website on the publication date: pricing pages, terms of service, privacy policies, imprints and product pages. Where a vendor did not state something, such as its model providers or training policy, we say it is not stated instead of filling the gap. We did not run output-quality tests, so the order reflects price transparency, team controls, data terms, deployment choice and provider disclosure. The largest incumbents are kept out of the first three places by site policy.